We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Independence Seaport Museum
from US$17.00
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
from US$32.00
More Info
from US$32.00
More Info
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
132
115
25
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
115
25
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish american war delaware river wwii submarine manila bay new jersey penn's landing engine room uss becuna cold war slave trade nautical history these ships great ship ship tours cramped quarters admission includes interactive exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

This is a fantastic museum-- great exhibits, charming and amusing. Its also working, with boat restoration and model boat biding going on as you walk the museum. This museum also curates the USS Olympia, which is in danger. Easily the second most historic US ship preserved. It has to be the absolutely best preserved ship of its time, and it's displayed beautifully. Please go and tip some cash in its donation box.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

If you have an interest in nautical history, the history of Philadelphia, or both, definitely don't miss the Independence Seaport Museum! This museum is stocked with displays and items showcasing the nautical history of Philadelphia and the area, and could easily take a couple of hours to cover everything thoroughly. The museum is probably geared more towards older children through adults; although there is a kid-focused area, it didn't seem like much to hold everyone's attention.

Hands down a good option in the Penns Landing area.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The original listing indicated <1hr. We took longer than that just on the first floor alone. There are so many interesting things to see and read... and the Becuna and USS Olympia (located along the waterfront of Spruce St harbor park) alone would take more than an hour. Both were really awesome, even though I started to get a bit claustrophobic on the sub. It was not crowded when we visited, and we didn’t allot enough time to view the second floor of the museum based on the TA listing... make sure you do so you can see it all!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank MeraKi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

I visited the Museum in Nov. Its worth spending time and money to understand maritime history and culture. Especially the two historic landmark ships - The Cruiser "Olympia" and Submarine "Becuna" (OPEN TOUR). Both were used during the world war. First time in my life I went inside any ship and the submarine, I was speechless to see the submarine. Both give you a sense of how the soldiers/sailors aboard the ship/submarine lived their lives. Tickets are available at the counter. I would suggest visitors to spend more time exploring the ship and the submarine.Must Visit!!! its an exprience.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank RubiK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

There is a good sense of maritime history here. The USS Olympia from the Spanish-American War is docked here as are dozens of other vessels.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank J-Chizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews