We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chestnut Hill - charming and cozy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

This place is very lovely and charming. It is in a great location with lots of restaurants and shops and other nice places to see with in walking distance. It is 15 minutes from Manayunk which is another great place to check out. Loved the delicious continental breakfast! Staff was also excellent and very helpful whenever we had a question. Would definitely stay here again as it was a good value for what it provided!!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Mary K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that the staff was helpful and that you enjoyed the continental breakfast. The Hotel is centrally located in Chestnut Hill, which has many restaurants and boutique shops. Some nearby tourist attractions include the Woodmere Art Museum and Morris Arboretum. As you mentioned, Manayunk is another great area to visit. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2015

The hotel is elegant, the people are really friendly and accommodating, and it's wonderful that we can bring our family dog with us. There are several restaurants on the premises, as well as some wonderful, quirky outdoor spaces to enjoy. We will return here again and again. The neighborhood is wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RutherfordB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear RutherfordB,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Hotel and found our employees to be friendly. We allow all breeds and sizes of dogs; it is wonderful that you brought your family dog with you. The Hotel is within walking distance of a few green spaces including Buckley Park (a very small space at the end of the block) and Pastorius Park, only two blocks away. We are about a five-minute drive to Fairmount Park, which has miles and miles of trails. I am excited to hear you are planning to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

I loved this hotel and will definitely stay there again next time I'm in the area. There's a great little food market next door and nice shops and restaurants to explore in the neighborhood. I stayed in the Post Office building, and the room was extremely spacious. Everything looked like it had been redone recently, and I like how the design reflected the city's history (note the artwork above the bed). The bed was super comfortable, and the room had very good light. There was a small kitchen as well which was great. It felt more like a studio apartment than a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Amy G,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room in our Post Office building and found it to be spacious and have ample light. Historical Chestnut Hill and Philadelphia are reflected in the design of our rooms and in the hallway artwork. Many guests enjoy our beds and I am happy to hear you did as well. If you’d like to order one for yourself, you can call Simmons at 1-866-WANTBED and mention the location number 65-443. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

this hotel sits in the most quaint neighborhood that makes you want to move there! We stayed in the carriage house and had a beautiful room with modern amenities and touches. Their continental breakfast was wonderful, but the market that is connected is a great alternative for breakfast or lunch with variety of fresh, local food. The staff is especially friendly and you feel like part of a family. There are a plethora of cute shops and restaurants you can visit walking up and down the street. We also walked to the train to take it to downtown for sightseeing. It was easy to get to, but we also found it easy to get a cab or Uber to and from. After being in the city, it was a quiet respite. We would do it again without question!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Megduffy,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel and the surrounding neighborhood. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service and I am pleased to hear our employees were friendly and made you feel like part of a family. As you mentioned, the Market at the Fareway, which has 15 vendors and is located behind the Hotel, has a variety of options for breakfast and lunch Thursday-Sunday. It is great to hear that it was easy for you to travel downtown from the Hotel via train or Uber. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed for work. It was a great location with many restaurants to choose from nearby. The hotel had spacious, quiet rooms. There was also an excellent continental breakfast with a wide assortment of options and an espresso machine. Room also had good coffee maker and well stocked bathroom supplies.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank ctunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear ctunnell,

Thank you for staying at the Chestnut Hill Hotel during your recent business trip to the area. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the bathroom amenities and found the breakfast to have a variety of options. As you mentioned, we are close to many restaurants including the Chestnut Grill, Paris Bistro, Green Soul, and King’s Garden, which are all just a few steps away. In addition, there are many more nearby restaurants located along Germantown Avenue. If you find yourself in town again, we hope you will choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
University City
The Inn at Penn, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#10 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,430 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Address: 8229 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3446
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: €158 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing