We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
353
109
35
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
109
35
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage house farmers market germantown avenue fire pit paris bistro chestnut grill bombay room morris arboretum cin cin post office building nespresso machine continental breakfast charming hotel chicken club the main hotel close to the train station historic charm
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The hotel is elegant, the people are really friendly and accommodating, and it's wonderful that we can bring our family dog with us. There are several restaurants on the premises, as well as some wonderful, quirky outdoor spaces to enjoy. We will return here again and again. The neighborhood is wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RutherfordB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear RutherfordB,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Hotel and found our employees to be friendly. We allow all breeds and sizes of dogs; it is wonderful that you brought your family dog with you. The Hotel is within walking distance of a few green spaces including Buckley Park (a very small space at the end of the block) and Pastorius Park, only two blocks away. We are about a five-minute drive to Fairmount Park, which has miles and miles of trails. I am excited to hear you are planning to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

I loved this hotel and will definitely stay there again next time I'm in the area. There's a great little food market next door and nice shops and restaurants to explore in the neighborhood. I stayed in the Post Office building, and the room was extremely spacious. Everything looked like it had been redone recently, and I like how the design reflected the city's history (note the artwork above the bed). The bed was super comfortable, and the room had very good light. There was a small kitchen as well which was great. It felt more like a studio apartment than a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Amy G,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room in our Post Office building and found it to be spacious and have ample light. Historical Chestnut Hill and Philadelphia are reflected in the design of our rooms and in the hallway artwork. Many guests enjoy our beds and I am happy to hear you did as well. If you’d like to order one for yourself, you can call Simmons at 1-866-WANTBED and mention the location number 65-443. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

this hotel sits in the most quaint neighborhood that makes you want to move there! We stayed in the carriage house and had a beautiful room with modern amenities and touches. Their continental breakfast was wonderful, but the market that is connected is a great alternative for breakfast or lunch with variety of fresh, local food. The staff is especially friendly and you feel like part of a family. There are a plethora of cute shops and restaurants you can visit walking up and down the street. We also walked to the train to take it to downtown for sightseeing. It was easy to get to, but we also found it easy to get a cab or Uber to and from. After being in the city, it was a quiet respite. We would do it again without question!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Megduffy,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel and the surrounding neighborhood. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service and I am pleased to hear our employees were friendly and made you feel like part of a family. As you mentioned, the Market at the Fareway, which has 15 vendors and is located behind the Hotel, has a variety of options for breakfast and lunch Thursday-Sunday. It is great to hear that it was easy for you to travel downtown from the Hotel via train or Uber. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed for work. It was a great location with many restaurants to choose from nearby. The hotel had spacious, quiet rooms. There was also an excellent continental breakfast with a wide assortment of options and an espresso machine. Room also had good coffee maker and well stocked bathroom supplies.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank ctunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPete3, Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear ctunnell,

Thank you for staying at the Chestnut Hill Hotel during your recent business trip to the area. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the bathroom amenities and found the breakfast to have a variety of options. As you mentioned, we are close to many restaurants including the Chestnut Grill, Paris Bistro, Green Soul, and King’s Garden, which are all just a few steps away. In addition, there are many more nearby restaurants located along Germantown Avenue. If you find yourself in town again, we hope you will choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

My partner and I were in town for a wedding and were fortunate enough to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. It was a beautiful, romantic weekend, and our stay at the hotel only added to and accentuated our enjoyment.

The room was gorgeous, clean, and comfortable (especially the bed), and the staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful, accommodating all of our needs quickly and with a smile. In particular, I really enjoyed the quality of the coffee, both in the room and at breakfast.

The location itself is great too. Just minutes from all sorts of shops and restaurants, and not too far from a giant, beautiful park and the Morris Arboretum if you are into the outdoors...

We left feeling quite pampered and well taken care of. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends and family in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank def316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear def316,
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our quaint hotel and that you found it to be clean and comfortable. If you would like to order a mattress for yourself, you can call Simmons at 1-866-WANTBED and mention the location number 65-443. We just recently added the in-room espresso machines by Nespresso and have received other positive guest comments about our new coffee. We are very fortunate to have an ideal location in the heart of historic Chestnut Hill, where you can park the car and take a stroll while enjoying many different restaurants and boutique shopping options. Please keep us in mind should your travel bring you back to the Philadelphia area. Thank you again for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews