We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairs at 8200ft high....”
Review of Austria Hof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austria Hof Lodge
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have two overriding memories of this hotel (yes, it's taken 6 months for me to review the last part of our grand tour!). 1) the fact that 20 or so stairs can make you totally breathless at 8200 ft up. 2) the bar. Well.. when I say the bar is memorable, what I mean is that we had a great time there... I think... Ms arad85 couldn't walk for a couple of days, but that's because she fell over going to bed...

This was the only place we had a mixup on rooms on our 3 week travels (we had booked a room with a jacuzzi but got one with 2 double beds). This was the only place we had to query the bill (it was obviously wrong, but still took 30 minutes to sort). It was also the only place we both had hangovers the size of a small Hippo.

Great time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We spent three nights at the Austria Hof in November, 2011. We had one of the least expensive rooms and found it to be more than adequate and quite comfortable (we were there off season). We felt the table and chairs were very comfortable and enjoyed eating our continental breakfast there 2 out of the 3 mornings while enjoying the view. Our room was clean and the bed and linens and furnishings certainly fulfilled our needs. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We love the location. Though the restaurant was closed during our visit, we have eaten there on prior trips to Mammoth and have enjoyed it very much. We have never found it to be more expensive than any of the nicer restaurants in town. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RML924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed over Thanksgiving and found out the hard way that their well advertised restaurant was closed. With most restaurants closed at the Village it was very disappointing to know they were closed until December. As for the continental breakfast it was served in the lobby were there was no proper area to eat. This was ridiculous considering they had an entire dinning area down stairs they could have easily set up. I went to sneak a peek at the jacuzzi in the day time and found a cesspool of dark thick murky water...yikes!
The Austria Hof should have more regard for their guests and spend the extra time to prepare a proper area for meals. No excuse on the false advertising and disgusting jacuzzi.

    • Service
Thank Fabian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our west coast tour and on our way to Las Vegas.
The hotel was a little tricky to find in the dark, they seem to have all the street lights dimmed in Mammoth lakes!
We parked up fine, although in peak season you may have trouble finding a spot, and the check in was friendly, unfortunately we got there late and the only room left was at the back with no view.
We paid a little more for a jacuzzi room, and the room was clean and the bed was very comfy.
The bathroom was a little worn in some areas and the jacuzzi wasn't actually that good.
There was no coffee machine or fridge, there was coffee making facilities in the lobby but the water was always cold in the pot, so couldn't have a cuppa at night time.
There was ment to free internet but it only worked once for about 5 mins whilst we were there which was a little annoying.
Breakfast was good, with boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and lovely home made cakes.

The hotel was very cute like you'd find in the Swiss alps and has a lovely view of the cable cars in the mountains.

Mammoth lakes its self is very pretty and made up of wooden log houses, but its very expensive.
We went to a supermarket and a box of cereal was $8 and a salad was $5, the locals cant do there shopping here surely! but we couldn't find any other supermarkets in the area.
We wanted to save our money for Vegas so didn't fancy paying a fortune in a restaurant so we ate at McDonalds and Subway, not grand I know but otherwise your looking at at least $60 for a meal.
The hotel did offer a 20% discount in their restaurant but that still made the cheapest dish $20.
Next time I think id rather stay in Yosemite and just one night in Mammoth lakes if I was traveling through the area due to the prices and feeling a bit board there with nothing to do at night, we also went horse riding at Reds Meadow whilst there which was about a 20 min drive away and although it was expensive was really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a good room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moomin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed one night out of season. The room was nicely decorated and clean and effort had clearly gone into preparation and presentation. The staff were friendly and helpful. The walls however were thin and we could hear next doors bathroom very clearly.

Location wise its probably 2 miles from the centre of town. If your not here to walk or cycle there is not much in the town for you out of season but I can imagine this would be a fun place when full of winter crowds for the ski season.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.4 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,502 reviews
1.3 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
1.2 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
3 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
3.2 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Hof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Hof Lodge

Address: 924 Canyon Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: €115 - €328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Hof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Austria Hof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hof Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Austria Hof Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing