We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Of the four or five motels I've stayed at in Mammoth Lakes this is the best choice so far. I am a budget traveler, so you won't hear about the high end places from me.

Parking is inside on the lowest level, so you won't have to clear snow off your car. On the other hand than means all the rooms are up one or two flights of stairs; no elevator.

My room was a comfortable size with a king sized bed, a love seat, a table with a couple chairs, and a wet bar with a mini fridge and a microwave. A very good value for $99.00 (midweek special.)

They have a Jacuzzi, which I didn't use, and a pleasant lounge where they serve breakfast. The breakfast is pretty skimpy: The kind of bagels that are really just round bread and some danish. There is coffee and orange juice, so it is possible to survive the morning, but the spread is pretty basic.

All things considered this is a nice place for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chpskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    178
    106
    23
    12
See reviews for
79
196
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Nothing special about this place. Regular kind of room, clean, orderly. Breakfast was just bagels or english muffins and coffee. Wanted a late check-out.....denied. Snowplow went right by the hotel at 4:36 am - thought the building was going to fall down. The one very nice thing is it's location - shuttle bus stop right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the road of possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This was a really nice lodge for a one night stay whilst driving from Vegas to Yosemite. After 6 hours of driving across Death Valley then up the east side of Yosemite Mammoth looked to be the most appropriate location to stay.

This was across the road from a Quality inn (bloke saw us coming I think on rate) and a Travelodge opposite which didn't have availability. This was was in between both of those hotels on rate and the Owner was extremely welcoming when we came in so we decided on this one for the night.

Room was pretty good quality for the night we stayed and what we paid (50 GBP for the night roughly), it was a bit old but old in the way it made the room feel more authentic for a ski lodge. In the room was a double sofa, microwave, fridge, sink, and lastly if skiing you would have lots of room to get out of your ski gear in the dress area.

After a long journey we really wanted someone to eat then sleep for the night but this Lodge had more to offer! They had a hot tub outside which we used to relax after the long journey, this was right beneath the mountains so was brilliant fun and a great view, and it also had a sitting area with a beautiful log fire that the owner kindly set for us.

Tea, Coffee and Fruit was available in the sitting area also.

Breakfast was continental, the bagels and danish was perfect for a early start and was light relieve from the big breakfasts we had been having.

If I ever did the journey again i'd stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeasonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The room was spacious and clean. The view was not really outstanding but for only one night it’s not really important. Main thing is it was quiet. We didn’t experienced any noise from the road.
The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. To get to the room you had to use a narrow well worn stairway. The hotel has seen better days but was functional. Except for the breakfast. We were very disappointed when we saw what they offered. It was very spartan, below average, that’s a pity.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

4 of us stayed in 2 rooms the night before a 5-day backpack trip, and again the night of our return from the trail. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly, the room rates were very inexpensive for Mammoth, and the continental breakfast was very welcome for us grab-and-go folks. When we asked if there was a place to store valuables (rather than in our car at the trailhead) the staff gave us lockers in the covered parking area (camera monitored, the staff keeps the keys). This was a nice benefit. On our return, we used their gas grill for steaks while we hot-tubbed our aches away. Also, we were given rooms mere feet from the backside parking area for both nights which made packing and unpacking our hiking gear a breeze (request in advance like I did - don't expect to show up and be given first floor rooms). Oh, and the hotel is right in the middle of town. All in all a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request 108, 109, 110 for quick access to rear parking, and close access to hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
5.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.6 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.0 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Property: Sierra Lodge
Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing