We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mammoth Mountain RV Park
Nearby Hotels
Cinnamon Bear Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Mountain Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$272
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Springs Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$299
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Creek Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
US$359
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge and Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Haus Motel(Mammoth Lakes)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
13
19
19
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
19
19
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull hookupsclose to townvisitor centerbike pathnice amenitiespine treeslaundrywinterpropaneratesvillage
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The other reviews are right on point. This place is a parking lot in the forest. The spaces are about two feet apart. It is very cramped. There are some spaces that are fine, but these are few. The town itself has a lot of amenities, but difficult to use due to parking problems and overcrowding. The restrooms are filthy and unattended. Our family has enjoyed Mammoth for over 30 years, but the old feel just isn't there anymore. A lot of the old restaurants are gone. Big corporate money has taken over. June Lake is only 15 miles away, not as crowded and a lot more friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We were very disappointed with this RV park. As several other reviewers have mentioned, the staff would not begin check-in's until 2:00. We were there about 1:00 and were told that we should just go down and park someplace, maybe the supermarket down the road. As we drove around, we saw RV's and campers parked all over in the vicinity, waiting to get in. So, inevitably, at 2:00 there was a virtual traffic jam down the highway with everybody trying to get in line. And it's not like the staff was busy cleaning up the campsites, so it's hard to understand why they would make everybody wait. We had booked a "standard site", which we found to be extremely narrow with just inches between us and the adjacent RV's. All the sites are on a kind of parking lot. Ours backed up to a dirty fire ring, the rear of a shopping center and a construction site. We didn't even unhitch. Even though it was late in the afternoon, we decided to forfeit our payment and move on. As it turned out, we found a nice site at the Forest Service campground 1/4 mile away.

In fairness, we can't rate the bathrooms or other facilities. We didn't use them, so will leave it to other reviewers to comment on those. Also, we had made a reservations for 3 nights, and while we lost our first night's deposit (as stated on the website regarding cancellations) we were not charged for the remaining nights we cancelled.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We completed a 6-week tour of the western U.S., traversing the country on our way out and back. During that time, we stayed in a variety of private and public campgrounds. Only Mammoth Mountain RV Park in California treated us so badly that we felt compelled to advise campers to avoid it.

At the office, two local ladies handle the daily affairs, following the owner's instructions. Unfortunately, the owner has advised them to be unhelpful and unreasonable toward their guests. For example, with big-city scheister-style stinginess they provide only one bathroom access card per family at a site. For a family with children or teenagers, the fun of camping quickly evaporates under the aggravation of juggling who gets to enter the bathroom!

You'd be wrong if you think that their precious bathroom cards let you into a well-maintained, spotless facility. To make matters worse, if you arrive after 8pm, you get no help and no bathroom card! It's not negotiable with their staff.

They bragged to us about not having to please customers because they're not affiliated with Woodall's or Good Sam.

It's a great location, but it's too bad that this anti-family, anti-bathroom owner has ruined the campground and will ruin your camping experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank KMRichmond_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMRVP, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Mountain RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

We apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will look into it. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Mammoth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Nice amenities, fair prices. shuttle can pick you up right in front of the RV sign and go all the way to the village or main lodge. Really convenient. Only have experienced during winter time.
Sometimes the Jacuzzi gets a little dirty, like you don't feel relaxing there, i think is the only down for the place. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: not a holtel
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jaque R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights with our travel trailer here in May. If you reserve a spot with electric, cable, water.... be forewarned that most sites have the connections on the wrong side of where your travel trailer actual connections exist. Not well planned or designed. You can try to work a move to an appropriate site that works, but the front office staff is really difficult, not willing to help, and you'll need to push a bit. The facilities are clean, but showers only run for 30 seconds at a time, so you won't get a hot shower, but if you keep restarting the shower about 20 times you can get clean. Again.... this was not well thought out. Finally, I was surprised and disappointed the site was not cleaned and ready when we arrived (well after the specified check-in time). The fire ring was over flowing with branches and highly flammable debris all over. I am pretty sure if we had a campfire it would have quickly spread throughout the entire campground very quickly. Another example of poor planning and management.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WholeLottaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews