We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite campsites, close to town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mammoth Mountain RV Park
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We tend to stay here at least annually. This is a great campground if you like to get social and know your neighbors. It has a great family friendly feel to it and lots of trees! It is very close to town so bring your bikes with you. The bike trail system it Mammoth is fantastic and runs right along one side of the campground. You will feel the effects of the altitude though!
The park has all the amenities you will need, a small store, laundry, restrooms with showers, an indoor pool, rec center, cable hookups, sanitation station and horseshoe pits. The sites also have nice fire pits. It can be difficult to get a space though, they tend to sell out fast.
The park is also tent friendly. Several spots just for these. They also have two rustic cabins that you can rent.
If you are looking for a remote spot, this is not it. It is very close to town. The lakes are just a few miles up the hill and always seem to produce nice trout. Many of the local lakes have boat rentals. You may want to take the extra time and hike into the surrounding lakes to enjoy the true beauty of the Sierras.
Bears seem to visit nightly so be sure to keep your food locked up.

Room Tip: Try to get a spot away from the highway
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hotelman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Mountain RV Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016

There are no other campgrounds in the area that offer hook ups so this is the only place to go if you want/need to have services. Very crowded and cramped spaces, not much of a mountain feel to it since most sites are on black top. There are some in the trees with full services but you need to book a full year in advance. Got up this morning to pack up and leave and there were so many cars parked it looked like a parking lot not a campground. A bit disappointed, but no choice if you want to visit Mammoth using your trailer/rig. Next time I will stay in a condo which I love.

Room Tip: Try to get a spot with full hook up, they have more shade and pines.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The park is family and dog friendly with great walking trails nearby and very close to the center of town. We enjoyed the pool, clean bathroom with showers and the playground on the campground. The only negative is that the spots are very close to each other and nit a lot of trees. But it is great place to park, rest and eat. The rest of the time we were out and about the town and the mountain.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Yette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMRVP, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Mountain RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We stayed only 1 night, I had phoned weeks before but was told park was completely booked. We ended up calling again the same day we were passing through and ended up getting a site only to be told we were booked for the next day. The staff was accommodating in getting us a site (on the tree side) we were very relieved...it was a big site #211 with 50amp full hook ups, as we were towing this site was great and staff allowed us to park our trailer in front of our RV. Nice park with a playground and pool/hot tub. Love that it is close to town only minutes to everything. We were there to visit family but already want to plan another trip there. I was told that bookings are done 2 years in advance, so if you know that you want to stay there I recommend that you book early. *In 2 weeks we have traveled through 7 states and found the this park was the ONLY park to actually have the Wi-Fi that all parks advertise.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMRVP, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Mountain RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Placed my reservation on line, making them for 2 RV's. Stated this before I booked. When we arrived, we were told they could not accommodate our request. 2 streets apart! That was the best they could do! Talked to the office again when we found out how far they were. Moved one of us 4 spaces apart, better but the spots were tight. Backed our 5th wheel as far back before hitting their posts, parked our truck across the parking spot and blocked part of the road. Had no choice. Had there been a vehicle parked across from us we would not have been able to back it in with out asking them to move. Opened up our slide out just went to the parking line. Sat inside with our door open, could hear people right next to us eating chips, the bag the crunch. Unbelievable!! Like I said More privacy at a Walmart parking lot. This is exactly like a parking lot back row, close enough to throw a rock in the hospital parking lot! No joke! People left 2nd day and we could see our other party. More moved in, talked to them and they had been at the RV park for 2 days and were told they had to move spots! I would have left. We only stayed because we thought as full as they said they were we thought everywhere was full. Not the case, we drove to a lot of camp grounds and found not only did they have spots they were much nicer with trees, mountain feel, they had openings. If your self contained you don't need the hook ups at some of the other camp grounds. Quiet times are 10pm till 8am. It doesn't apply to the trash pick up. 7:00 7:30am. We only stayed 3 nights, drove around during the day sight seeing. Tried to make the best out of a camping parking lot!! Not my kind of camping.

Room Tip: The best spots are to the right of the office. As long as it's not the first row close to the hi...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ibcnu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.7 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
853 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
227 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
524 reviews
11.1 km away
Convict Lake Resort
Convict Lake Resort
#3 of 55 in Mammoth Lakes
97 reviews
1.9 km away
Moderne Hostel
Moderne Hostel
#28 of 55 in Mammoth Lakes
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain RV Park

Address: 2667 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mammoth Mountain RV Park offers full and partial hook-up sites, tent camping and rustic sleeping cabins in the beautiful alpine town of Mammoth Lakes, CA. We are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing