We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Meadowlark Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 825 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Meadowlark is a chef-owned and operated neighborhood restaurant in the heart of Dayton, Ohio. Our menus feature high-quality ingredients cooked simply but imaginatively with lively, bright-tasting flavors. Our cooking is geared toward the American palate, which means fluffy, buttermilk mashed potatoes, homemade pickles and cornbread, great pancakes at brunch and yes, there will always be a burger on the menu. We also feature meat, fish and vegetarian dishes that employ the flavors and techniques from around the world that we have all come to love. This is contemporary everyday cooking, from scratch, made and served with local pride.
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I ventured here on our way from Wisconsin to North Carolina for Christmas. We are so glad we did! The shrimp and grits was one of the best meals I have ever had! It was incredibly flavorful, savory, rich and delicious. The shrimp were perfectly prepared - so sweet and crunchy. My husband's strip steak was beefy, perfectly cooked and the rub was very tasty. We had the cheesecake with dulce de leche and cinnamon wontons. The texture and flavor was pure decadence! A truly delightful stop on a long journey. We will try to catch Meadowlark for lunch on the way home!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2016

We're fortunately enough to live close by to this restaurant so we go fairly often. This makes the bar higher, not lower, as they have more chances to disappoint, but they never do. Chef Wiley's dishes aren't just good; many of them are outstanding - the shrimp and grits, the chicken thighs, and the spaghetti carbonara come immediately to mind.

She sources local ingredients, many of them from Dorothy Lane Market, and does a great job pairing wine and beer selections with the menu choices.

Truly, though, beyond the quality of the food and the creativity of the dishes, are the descriptions of the menu items. When you take "menu planning" in culinary school, this is how it should be taught. You'll often get the history of the dish, what part of her past led her to create it, and then a narrative of the ingredients and how they're combined that really makes the dish leap off the page.

Chef Wiley is a community leader and an excellent chef. I'd put this up there with Corner Kitchen and the Oakwood Club as one of Dayton's finest restaurants.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank galron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

A true gem tucked away off busy Rt 48. Everything is homemade with flavors that open your tastebuds. The orange soda, bloody mary are truly home made, the Lark burger has to be eaten to be appreciated, a must visit restaurant. Order the mixed nuts at the bar with your drink.,

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank onvacation55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Entree choices are very interesting and all are well prepared - excellent use of vegetables. Dinner menu offers good choices - reasonably priced. Service can be spotty.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacki60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We had delicious hot entrees. The menu has a good variety. I love their shrimp and grits as well as other entrees.service is pleasant snd attentivr. The room towards the back with tall windows is the most quiet. The other room tends to be noisy during peak times. Consistent delicious food in pleasant atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Meadowlark Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing