We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could spend all day”

National Museum of the U.S. Air Force
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Hudson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You could spend all day”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

WOW! If you are interested in history, flying, or space travel and want to get up close and personal - this is the place to go. You can wander under the wing of a stealth bomber, you can walk through President Eisenhower's airplane, you can stick your head up inside the bomb doors of a huge Air Force bomber. All of the displays have wonderful information and the volunteers who work there are very professional and knowledgable, also. The museum is FREE except for the IMAX movies.Get there early and plan to spend hours!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank S_MJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,349
    266
    19
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ossian, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“National Museum of the USAF”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Absolutely the best display of airpower! Be sure to bring your best walking shoes--it's a long day if you want to see everything. Lots of educational displays and photo opportunities. It is a must see for anyone with an interest in airplanes . A small display of space travel, rockets & a capsule, are also here. The best part is that it is FREE !!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1ruffus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sterling, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The bargain of a lifetime.”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a FREE attraction that millions drive by every year, but many don't realize that they have just passed the greatest collection of aviation in the US. Everything from a bicycle shop in Dayton where aviation in the US started up to the airplanes that are flying today. Everything is there and they aren't replicas. They are the real airplanes and artifacts that was aviation in the US and most of the world.
The Museum is located near the junction of two of the busiest interstates in the nation. I-71 and I-75 cross just north of the Museum and it is located near the Dayton outer belt. It is easy to find and there is a lot of parking. The facility is handicapped accessible and electric wheelchairs are provided for FREE. It has lots of volunteers that will help guide you to you specific area of interest, or can suggest things to see or places to go.
Personally, there are two aircraft there that were airplanes that I flew on while in Viet Nam. It has the actual aircraft, Bock's Car, the airplane that dropped the second atomic bomb. The one that ended World War 2.
The secret of the Air Force Museum is that they have a once a week tour of the repair shop that restores all of the aircraft and artifacts that goes on display. You have to call and get on the schedule, but the behind the scenes part of the Museum is well worth the effort to do this tour. When I was there we were hands on with the Memphis Belle as well as onboard most of the Air Force Ones that served many of the latest presidents of the United States. Again, it's a FREE service of the Museum and is a thrill of a lifetime for anyone even slightly interested in the history of aviation.
Again, this is a FREE all access tour of the industry that made the US what it is today. It is well worth the day or two that it takes to see everything and has areas that will interest just about everyone. "Try it, you will like it." Did I mention that it is FREE?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FarmAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a must see for all ages! The history and artifacts are amazing; the exhibits continue to grow every year we visit. As well, the staff and volunteers are extremely helpful and compassionate about their role.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank w110knm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place for elementary through adults”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is an amazing museum. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE it as did my children. We've been going off and on since my 20 year old was 5 weeks old (his first visit). Stroller friendly, yet not as good for young walkers through about age 5-6. Reason: these are large hangers and the exhibits are not behind glass. It seems to encourage younger kids to run. If you're a parent who really wants to see this thing, go without the kids first. It's so HUGE, they'll be exhausted before you get halfway through and it's ALL worth it. Yet, my children did well mainly because they were both really interested in military things and airplanes. Getting here is "interesting" at best. I have yet to go and not see road construction and thus get lost. Even my GPS misdirected me last time and I ended up about 10 miles out of my way. VERY VERY well done museum and well worth the visit. Just beware it is HUGE...HUGE means sore feet, tired children, cranky adults at day end, but all worth it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mylabrat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to National Museum of the U.S. Air Force? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing