We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”

Salar Restaurant and Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Salar Restaurant and Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 825 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$32
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Salar features an exciting menu of World-Fusion cuisine with strong French, Peruvian, and Mediterranean influences. In addition we offer an extensive selection of hand-crafted cocktails featuring fresh squeezed juices, fresh fruit and herbs, and only the finest spirits. Salar is a reasonably priced, upscale, yet casual style restaurant. We have created a unique dining experience with two outdoor patios, two full bars, a main dining room with full-wall windows looking out onto the Historic Oregon District, an intimate lounge space, and a private dining room. Salar is proud to be a "Green Certified" restaurant.
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere, great cocktails, great service, romantic evening. Was able to be seated early. Appetizers were great and main courses were divine. I'd definitely recommend trying this place.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Salar is an authentic and vibrant restaurant in the heart of Dayton's historic and artsy Oregon District.
South American influences create some great entree selections. They offer enough variety that there seems to be something for every taste.
The cocktail menu and wine list are as good as spot in town.
A great spot for a date, for couples night out, or for a group of friends.
They have some nice outdoor seating in the summer months, try it if the weather is just right.
A couple of other quick notes, Salar gets a little loud when the place fills up. Also, a meal here should be enjoyed, not rushed, so don't here for dinner if you don't have 90 minutes to enjoy the experience.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Js54Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I've been here several times, the food is always excellent. Service is good, friendly waitstaff. Tables in the bar area are a bit crowded.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Salar last night, spent $120 and left hungry.

The atmosphere, decor, and vibe is really cool. The establishment is a little too pretentious for our Daytonian taste, but that is their niche target market. It is a taste of trendy NYC located in the Midwest. The waiter was very professional and gave outstanding customer service.

I ordered a drink for my wife, and their bar didn't have Fireball or Jack Daniels Cinnamon. We got the impression those spirits weren't upscale. This was somewhat disappointing, but the waiter was quick to give alternative suggestions.

I had the scallop entree, and my wife had the steak skewers entree. The food was presented well and tasted delightful, but the portions were appetizer size at best. Not the place for big, Midwestern, steak and potato appetites.

This wasn't our first time to Salar and won't be our last. It's a perfect place to go to impress an out of town client or guest. It's also a good break from the standard Dayton fare. It's not our go-to "cup of tea" but it might be yours.

Enjoy!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank rockyb360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Went there for a rare night out and loved it. The upscale menu offers lots of delicious items and the nice quiet environment was perfect for a date night. Hope to return very soon!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salar Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Salar Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing