We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel in downtown el paso” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great hotel in downtown el paso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

great hotel, price is about $85 a night. rooms are clean,staff very attentive. free shuttle to airport. the restaurant is decent. breakfast buffet is about $12.95. if you are on a tight budget and the $29 strip steak is too high or pricey at hotel, walk to Big Bun restaurant for burger ( about $10) and Luigi's pizza buffet( all you can eat for $8.96) close by.come early Luigi's closes at 7 PM, Big Bun is great for Lunch all burger or tacos cooked to order no microwave of pre made sandwiches.

Room Tip: choose early, all rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Thank you so much, Mr. C for writing a review for us. We look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    263
    120
    49
    37
See reviews for
121
153
54
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Our 2 week, 2K journey around N.M., included two nights at this fabulous hotel. On the second to last leg, we went from Las Cruces to Carlsbad and the twisting, time-consuming but beautiful drive took much longer than expected, so instead of going North to Roswell, we opted to go South to El Paso, so that we could pick-up the I-25 North to ABQ. We did this with trepidation, as my husband was convinced that a city on the border of Ciudad Juarez was about the same as being there. Couldn't be further from the truth! Murders in a city of about 1M were 5 in 2010. El Paso is a beautiful city! Back to the hotel part, it was everything that you would expect from a Hilton most anywhere; excellent staff, a bit formal, easy check-in, everyone very polite. The room was large, clean and included everything that is expected from a four-star hotel; great beds, spacious bathroom/shower, large flat-screen t.v., desk, free Internet, newspaper, etc. We had an amazing view of both El Paso and the lights of Murder City at night. The downtown museums, both of history and art, are incredible. We walked around the Plaza, which was being decorated for Christmas and took a much longer walk to Mesa St. Bar and Grill, which was much shorter coming back, as it was mostly uphill there. Hotel offered free shuttle and we had a vehicle, but after all the driving and eating, the walk suited us perfectly. Had an excellent dinner at Fire, which I will separately review. If I ever found myself in El Paso again, I would stay here in a heartbeat. Thanks for the comfort!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KendritayPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review for us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience what El Paso is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Have stayed here several times on business and have always enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are newly finished with upgrades. Bathrooms, rooms have always been very clean, as is consistent with DT brand. The restaurant is good.
This is one of the best options if you are staying in downtown El Paso, but is slightly higher priced than other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banshee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate you choosing our hotel to fill your business needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here for one night while passing through El Paso. This place was bizarre ... checked in and was informed that their Hilton Honors system was down ... I am a member and had already entered my information when booking so didn't see how that could affect me.

Just before leaving the desk where I checked in, the woman told me there was free wifi available throught the hotel. We went to our room and found that the wifi wasn't working, after waiting for about an hour, I decided to call the front desk. However, I couldn't do that because the phones weren't working either.

So we went downtairs to have a drink but the lounge and dining room were completely vacant. We left and found a place to have food and drinks that was more lively. When we got back to the hotel we went to the lounge for a nightcap. We ordered two glasses of wine ... one red, one white ... the red one had obviously been opened and re-corked for a long time and it tasted horrible. After I sent it back, the bartender said he smelled it after I complained and he agreed it was old ... my question .. why didn't he smell it before he gave it to me? White wine was also horrible but not because it was old ... it was just crappy wine.

Finally, we decided to go up to the room and go to bed ... room 1307, (Sunday, November 6, 2011) and were kept awake half the night by the rattling coming from the HVAC duct every time the fan came on.

This is the worst property affiliated with the Hilton brand that I've stayed at ever. It's not that problems don't occur in all aspects of running an organization ...but how a person, or set of persons in a company responds is telling. My sense is that the staff we encounted at Doubletree had an entitlement mentality and were neither surprised nor concerned that we were experiencing service problems.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jovela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
First off, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experiences you had while staying with us. I assure you that your review will be shared with the entire staff to ensure that another guest does not end up having the same issues that you did. I know that time has passed and its a little late for fixing the problems you had, so I took the liberty of locating your reservation and credited your card back for your stay. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at eric.jimenez@hilton.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Choices are slim for new hotels in Downtown El Paso for many reasons. But if you are looking for a fresh, well-kept property, pool bar, fine-dining and an adjacent Starbucks, this is your hotel. Be sure to go to the 17th floor to look out over Mexico (Juarez).

The room was traditional Hilton, excellent room service and very friendly people. One challenge was our meeting room, the service was very spotty and it took a few stern words to get it back on track. Other than that issue, it was a very nice stay for a week.

The hotel is central to the arts district and the convention center. You can walk to several museums, fine dining, and the Philharmonic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you for your review. Hopefully on your next visit, we can make it a flawless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
8.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
0.4 km away
Camino Real El Paso
Camino Real El Paso
#70 of 82 in El Paso
3.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center

Property: Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
Address: 600 N El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
#14 Business Hotel in El Paso
#16 Family Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City El Paso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing