We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Food, Fun Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Fish of Little Rock

Flying Fish of Little Rock
Ranked #6 of 768 Restaurants in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I visited the 'Flying Fish' restaurant in the River Market area of Downtown LR and we had a very pleasant casual dinning experience! Good Food & a fun Atmosphere was what we experienced as we placed our order at the counter and staff cooked it up quickly! The selections were fresh and the portions were generous! I opted for a 'Combo Basket' of catfish & shrimp, while my wife ordered the grilled entree. Both were hot & delicious! Be warned: "This place stays busy!" Lunch time and Friday nights will usually find a wait line extending out the door! But the service is fast and you can amuse yourself looking at all the pictures on the walls submitted, (presumably), by former patrons!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pumpkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    460
    106
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and A Fun Atmophere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

All of the oyster dishes were outstanding, onion rings were wonderful, crawfish pooboy was great, fries are delicious. Minor disapointment on the fish taco. Very little taste and uninspiring. Service is quick and friendly, beer is cold. Will go back next time in Little Rock.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denver7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stick to the catfish! Shrimp Po' Boy was disaappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I had visited this restaurant before, and found the catfish basket (as well as the hush puppies and coleslaw and fries) outstanding! This time, we ventured off the beaten trail (big mistake!) and got the "Shrimp Po' Boy Loaf" for Mardi Gras. The shrimp did not taste like good, fresh shrimp, and it was just to "carb heavy" for us!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Catfish in Arkansas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

What a great place! The line outside before it opened up for a weekday lunch was evidence of what we were about to experience. The ambiance upon entering hits you- this is a hole in the wall (rather large one) that reverberates with a great catfish meal. Ordering at the counter in front of the cookers was fast, we found our way to a wooden booth and waited, but not for long and then picked up our very reasonably priced Catfish fillet with hush puppies and fries and a side order of cole slaw. It was outstanding. The breading was crisp, the catfish moist, the hush puppies were mouth watering. If you like catfish and the fixins this is a place you don't want to miss!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edpaytontulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Where old talking fish wall plaques are put to rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The line to order food when we got there said it all...this place must be good. It was. The prices and quality of the food is worth the wait, and I will tell anyone going to Little Rock to eat here. Can't be beat.

Not exactly a fine dining experience...you wait in line, menu on the wall, a buzzer to tell you when to come back and get it...a wonderful experience for me and my 7 other friends. No one had a complaint.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ABQSadieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish of Little Rock also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fish of Little Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing