We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roosevelt Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$211
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lexington Hotel, Autograph Collection(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$319
US$239
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$183
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
US$316
US$272
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$314/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$358
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$291
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (9,928)
Filter reviews
9,928 results
Traveller rating
1,829
3,437
2,380
1,312
970
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,829
3,437
2,380
1,312
970
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand central stationcozy queennew yorktimes squaremadison avenuelobby barrockefeller centerhotel is in a great locationempire statefew blocksnycsubwaybroadwaymidtownstarbucksjfk
Filter
Updating list...
6,579 - 6,584 of 9,928 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The Roosevelt Hotel is conveniently located next to Grand Central Terminal. If you exit GCT from the backside on 45th you are only about 50 yards to the doors of the Roosevelt. For tourists it is easy to walk or take the shuttle from GCT to Time Square. For business people you are in the heart of mid-town business and GCT can take you down to Wall St. with ease.

The rooms are a decent size and the hotel has an old New York feel to it in the lobby. The hallways do show some age, but it isn't bad.

The one odd thing that I can't figure out after staying here for years is why they have HD TV's yet they display lousy analog signals. If you are like most people staying at a hotel in NY, you are either out hitting shows at night as a tourist or shmoozing customers at a restaurant for business travelers so the TV isn't on much. Nonetheless, if TV is your thing then this place is going to disappoint you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gl0bal_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel last weekend. They have bed bugs. My friend and I slept in separate beds in the same room, and both woke up with bites all over us. We saw bed bugs when we looked under the sheets at the mattress. I also stayed at the hotel in 2005, and the 3 of us then also got bed bugs. I assumed in 5 years they would have fixed the problem, but they haven't. We asked for a refund, but were told since we booked through priceline, we couldn't have one. Beware!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank trefs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We recently stayed at the Roosevelt and it was great! Checked in with no problems, the front desk clerk was friendly and he told us if anything was wrong in the room to just let him know...We had 2 rooms and both were fine....No mold........we were on the 8th and 16th floors. Take a right outside of hotel and you are in Times Square within minutes...take a left or shortcut across the street and you are at Grand central within minutes.....great location and staff......no worries if you stay here....if you get a room that isnt up to your standards just let them know and I am sure they will switch rooms for you! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

this was the 4th stay for us...the location is the best...one block from grand central...the lobby and bar is hard to beat...it is a very old hotel , very grand, very stately...granted the rooms are on the small side and many need a little overhaul...but the customer service is the best when something needs to be replaced or fixed..which greatly makes up for any of its' downfalls. we were able to get a great package rate on the hotel website and will stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We were due to stay at the Roosevelt for two nights before returning home after a great trip to the states. On arrival there was nobody to help with bags which would have been useful as my wife is pregnant. We got our room key and even before getting to the room not only were the lifts dirty but the corridor still had rubbish outside rooms, surprising as we arrived at 9pm and you would have thought housekeeping would have dealt with it. Our room didn't get any better. The a/c unit was rusty and didn't look as if it had ever been cleaned. The net curtains were stained and had holes in, along with the bedside lamps which also had faulty bulbs. The toilet seat was also broken. At this point we left the room and I aired my concerns to the reception team who's attitude was "couldn't care less". Whilst at the reception two other guests were raising complaints, one regarding room cleanliness and the other about personal items been stolen from there room, a worrying situation.
An alternative room was offered but by this stage we left returning to The Ritz Carlton, where we had stayed on our outward journey. Having visited The States on many occasions this is quite honestly the worse hotel I have been to and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews