We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #85 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a great location in Midtown. The hotel is situated 2 mins from the Empire State Building, 2 mins from Macy's, 10 mins from Times Sq, Grand Central station and the Rockerfeller centre.

The breakfast at the hotel is ok, as you will see you don't get a breakfast hardly anywhere in NY hotels, it consists of pastries, bagels, cereal and tea/coffee/fruit juice and massive muffins.

The service at the hotel was good and make use of the concierge as he has lots of tips and advice on restaurants and tickets etc.

Really nice and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby3156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,153
    1,506
    295
    73
    49
See reviews for
729
2,160
144
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington, Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break in NYC, staying at Metro with easy access to subway, Macy's, Times Sq, ESB and Broadway. Breakfast plentiful and varied with coffee and tea available all day. Hotel room towards back of hotel and therefore street noise minimal and bed extremely comfortable. Access to free computers helpful when checking in and printing boarding passes for return flight and rooftop terrace an added bonus. Would highly recommend this hotel for its location and serenity after a hard day pounding the NY streets, taking in all the sights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for three nights during March. We were informed on arrival that we had been upgraded to a superior room, which had a superb view of the Empire State Building. Room was clean and comfortable and air conditioning was very welcome for the unseasonably hot weather we had during our stay. Breakfast was complimentary and although basic, was very adequate, particularly toasted bagel with cream cheese!

Our room was a little noisy, even though we were eleven floors up, but think this was due to ongoing maintenance work on the roads outside the hotel.

Hotel penthouse roof is worth a visit for the spectacular view of the Empire State Building, and was especially nice during the evening when it was all lit up. As coffee is available 'on tap,' we took ours up there to enjoy.

Location was excellent. Five minutes walk from Empire State Building, and ten minutes from Time Square, Broadway and Penn Station.

A very enjoyable stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband booked this hotel for a long weekend trip. It's an immaculate place styled in art deco/ black & white film-star theme. Our room was extremely comfortable, air-conditioning, fridge & safe included. The complimentary breakfast was amazing, lots of choices and served from 6:30-11. The hotel couldn't be a better location, 1 block from the subway, 5th Avenue and the Empire State Building and 2 blocks form Macy's. Surrounded by great Irish bars.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoMarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have been meaning to stay at the Metro for some time having heard some good reviews from others. I finally stayed there for 3 nights and would recommend it as a great choice, and it's a stone's throw from Macy's. The staff were very good, and I was efficiently checked in, and was advised of the facilities available such as a complimentary breakfast, a business centre and free wifi. I had forgotten to print my travel voucher, and they were fine about this, allowing me to check in first and settle in, and then print it out at the business centre. They do control access to this using keys at the front desk.

I was fortunate enough to get a room upgrade to a Premier room located on a higher floor. The room was decently sized, but as with many New York rooms a bit dark. There are some nice extra touches to the room which made it a great experience, including a large screen flat screen TV, a Keurig Coffee Maker (with some tea cartridges) and a fabulous shower which gives you 3 options to shower (rain shower, standard and hand held). The bathroom has been refurbished to a nice contemporary standard. It provided generously sized toiletries comprising of soap, shampoo, condition and lotion. A shower cap is also provided alongside a hotel style hair dryer unit. On their website they advertise a fridge with a welcome beverage for this room class, but I did not get this, although this might be as it was a room upgrade. The bed was fantastically comfortable. In addition to these facilities, the room also had an iPod dock, laptop friendly safe and iron. The air conditioning was an old style model under the window which did make some noise, but was controlled using an electronic thermostat.

The hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast which was very handy. It served tea/coffee, apple and orange juices, bread, bagels, muffins, pastries, yoghurt, cereals and fruit. I would say that the offering was on par with that at the Park South hotel, but not as extensive as the Staybridge Suites which also offered some hot options like oatmeal, waffles and eggs. In addition to the breakfast, it was possible to get complimentary tea and coffee all day. You can also pick up a copy of the New York Times from the front desk.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here and it now on my "go to" list of New York hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_travel_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#104 of 468 in New York City
1,663 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 468 in New York City
730 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,347 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing