We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient NYC Hotel”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #185 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The hotel was conveniently located and within a couple of blocks from the subway. View from our room was on W 77 Street. Great location and value for the deal that we got it for. Will look for similar deals in hopes of staying there again when we travel to New York in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broadway are brighter with better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherofaultdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie W, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear motherofaultdaughter,

Pleased that our location was convenient for your travels around the city. Happy that you found your stay to have great value. We hope you'll stay with us again during your next visit.

Warm regards,
Connie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 301 of 5,661 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Great hotel, specially if you go to see the American Museum of Natural History. Very friendly staff, nice bar downstairs, life music in the evenings. Very clean and practical rooms. If you are looking for good views take the upper floor. Today Ramona at reception deck solved one small problem for me in very efficient and cordial way. Thank you guys!

Room Tip: The rooms looking at 77st are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie W, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Boris M,

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in the Upper West Side. Happy that you had a chance to check out our LIVE @ LOCL series. Thank you for acknowledging Ramona's professionalism. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in New York.

Warm regards,
Connie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I returned to this hotel after sampling a few hotels in the neighborhood. I still like this hotel best, both for its cleanliness, wood floors, comfortable bed, quiet air conditioning and superb location. Since one gets prompted for upgrading at a discount, I decided to upgrade to a bigger suite with a view. Unfortunately I ended up with a room which was even less furnished (no chair, no desk) and the same size as what I had before. Granted there was a window and I was no longer "walled in", there was no way the room was over 300 sq ft as advertised in the upgrade. Upon complaint to management, however, I was moved to a bright and spacious room the next day which I was very happy with. Just be sure you're aware of what you are upgrading to if you decide to upgrade. I need to travel to the upper west side frequently over the next few years and intend to keep returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank redmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie W, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear redmonkey,

We're proud that we have become your favorite hotel in the neighborhood. It means a lot coming from a seasoned traveler. I'd like to apologize though we fell short with your original upgrade but I'm pleased we are able to find you room a more suitable room. We eagerly await your next trip.

Warm regards,
Connie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

clean room in a great location. lot's to do around there and it's so close to the subway. Got a free welcome drink which was a nice add on. I do wish the lobby were brighter. It makes a sort of unwelcoming feeling. One elevator which wasn't working in the evening was quickly repaired. I liked that. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 154golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie W, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear 154golfer,

Great that you loved staying in the Upper West Side. We're fortunate to have much to do nearby. Sorry to hear that the lobby felt a bit unwelcoming for you, but happy that you enjoyed your welcome drink. Pleased that you had a good experience and we look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,
Connie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We visited New York City for the first time and stayed at the NYLO. It was a great experience and a wonderful location. It was walking distance to Central Park and Riverside Park on the Hudson River. We recommend the NYLO to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trebor440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie W, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear trebor440,

So happy that we played host for your first visit to New York City. Pleased that you had a great experience with us and were able to explore both Central Park and Riverside Park. They are both extraordinary. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll stay with us again for your second trip to the city!

Warm regards,
Connie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#137 of 471 in New York City
2,460 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#63 of 471 in New York City
3,856 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 471 in New York City
3,817 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,923 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 471 in New York City
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €123 - €335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing