We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Last weekend marked my first visit to NYC. I stayed at the Mansfield and had a great experience! Beautiful building and great location. I read many of the reviews before booking my reservations at the hotel and found some complaints about the room size and staff. Yes, the room was on the small side (it's NYC people!), but it was perfectly cozy, clean and adequate for a short stay. The staff was lovely and I would definitely stay here again. I was looking for a perfect little NYC boutique hotel and found one in the Mansfield.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    633
    327
    155
    121
See reviews for
258
730
121
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here last Nov/Dec 2011 and was amazing. Excellent location, spotlessly clean and very helpful staff. The decor and feel of the hotel, especially the foyer was typically Manhattan and only added to the enjoyment of our first visit to New York. Free coffee and tea available at all times, along with access to computers and printers if needed. This was ideal for airport on-line check-in. The 'M Bar' was a lovely place to wind down and have a cocktail at the end of the evening. On our last day there, the staff held our luggage for us free of charge and also booked a town car for us for our journey to the airport, and this was a perfect end to a perfect stay. Despite it's central location, we were pleasantly suprised that the street was fairly quiet at night. We are already looking to go back this year and The Mansfield would be our first choice.
I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Chambre Petite is an ample size for 2 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesecakeguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We booked for a three night stay at the Mansfield beginning of November 2011. There was a neat deal going on, where you book for two nights, and the third night was complimentary; so the price came up to something rather affordable, in New York City standards that is...

The first night was absolutely horrible. The room was extremely tiny, but that was not what bothered us. The A/C was not working at all! Although we called the reception a couple of times throughout the night, the handy-man that came up could not fix it, though he said he did. We practically stayed up until the morning, and once it was 6AM, went down to the reception desk to complain once again, ready to switch hotels to the Sofitel across the street!

Although we were partially frozen by then, the gentleman at the reception desk was helpful and kind. He said he did not have the authority, but that he would pass the information onto his manager, and make sure we switch rooms. They upgraded us to one of the better rooms in the Hotel, called 'The Jennings Room', which was a very roomy suite with a working A/C an impressive decor. We stayed there for the other two nights; it did not make us forget the misery of the first night, but surely left a better taste in our mouth about the management of the hotel.

Overall, the location was very convenient; it was a quiet street in the vibrant heart of midtown Manhattan. Close to shopping, entertainment, and sight-seeing; also had access to Metro easily.

One bitter part was that the lobby seating did not exist at all; once we made the reservation we saw these cute pictures of a reading room/library-looking lobby; though it was under construction throughout our stay... So there wasn't much of a hangout place in the Hotel, to be honest, none at all.

Regardless of all, I liked this hotel, and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The cheaper/smaller rooms are small for real...it's New York City standards; they also have a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a great hotel. Great service, well-appointed and stylish room, beautiful lobby, perfect downtown location a couple of blocks from time's square. it was pretty quiet at night, i was surprised given downtown location. the bathroom was very nice, the bed was a bit squeaky, but very comfortable. i especially loved the library with 24 hour capaccino and tea service (for free!) as well as plenty of newspapers - it was better than any coffee shop! also the business center was very useful and came in handy for a print out we needed. really a top notch hotel. i'd stay again and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicanmadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary in NYC this year. We wanted a place close to Broadway but one that would not strain our wallet. I found the Mansfield Hotel on Hotels.com and got a great rate for a queen size chamber. In reading other reviews, 1 complaint was the room was small and the bathroom mirror was a small shaving mirror. All true. Unfortunately what people fail to realize is that the hotel is 1900s period turn of the century style. Everything was cozier then the wide open rooms that we are accustomed to now. I mean the hotel has polished wooden handrails for the stairs and marble mosaic floors in all of the hallways! You don't see tha at your local Best Western! And besides, who goes to NYC to hang out in a hotel room? Everyone on the staff that we had contact with were very pleasent and helpful.
All in all a great trip and recommeded hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_vogt9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,897 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#331 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansfield 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing