We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for 3 star - great location”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #307 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 29 July 2017

This is a 3 star hotel so my review is based on that expectation. The location is outstanding 5 minutes from Penn Station, 10 minute walk up Broadway to Times Square, Empire State Building round the corner and 2 minutes from the subway. Nestled in Korea Town our first meal out was easy to find. The staff are friendly and courteous, the rooms are clean and comfortable - our bath was nice and big. Breakfast is self service 'continental' (toast, fruit, yoghurt, bagels) but fresh and plentiful. I didn't check out the bar. Only downsides were that the wi-fi wasn't great and the lift always seemed to be full but on the whole it's great value for money.

Room Tip: Our view was typical New York (the wall of the building next door) but who needs views in New York C...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, Manager at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Good afternoon,
I hope all is well.
We really appreciate your feedback,
Feedback is always appreciated and it is important for us to understand how you experienced stay.
We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again, please return again soon. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even better stay at Hotel Stanford next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stanford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

I returned from this hotel on 16th July after visiting with my son for our first holiday in New York . The hotel was better than expected following the reviews I had previously read. We requested a room at the top of the hotel and a quiet room and that is exactly what we were given. Although there is only one lift, it wasn't a big problem. We didn't have to wait too long for it even though on the 12th floor. Also, although it is a little strange not to be able to boil a kettle in the room, the reception staff said we should just ask for hot water and they would bring it. We did this on several occasions asking for hot water when we returned to the hotel after 4.30 when the free coffee wasn't available. Every time someone brought a kettle of hot water within a few minutes and cups too. It was a very satisfactory service so take your tea bags and coffee and don't be afraid to ask. Milk was available from the shop over the road. The fridge was handy for the milk and cold drinks.

It was good to have the breakfast included in the hotel as it saved time to be able to have a bite to eat before going out for the day. The bagels (and toasting machine), croissants, yoghurt, cereal and apples and bananas were sufficient to start the day. I was a bit surprised at first that the hotel were using paper plates, cups and cutlery but it wasn't a problem.

We picked this hotel as it was one of the few with two single beds and whilst these rooms don't have a view, the room was better than expected, the beds were very comfortable and the pillows were great. In fact, I have come home and bought new pillows to try and match the ones we had in the hotel.

All in all it was a great week in a lovely hotel in a great location.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Thanks hotel Stanford.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank crogers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, Manager at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review and taking time to share your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again, please return again soon. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even better stay at Hotel Stanford next time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Location wise - right by the Empire State Building / Penn Station

Free breakfast was a nice surprise I wasn't expecting

Hotel is on "Little Korea" which is fun for a night out

Sorry I'm just not sold on Korean food though!

It was a perfect one night's stay for us - recommended

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, GA at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Paul T
Thank you for staying with us and rating us a 5 star review.
I am glad you were able to take advantage of our central location that is conveniently located to transportation and iconic New York attractions.
We truly appreciate your gracious review and simply cannot wait to host you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The hotel is very convenient just steps away from the Herald Square subway station and very close to Penn Station. This time we had a room on the 10th floor which was very quiet. While the bathroom in this particular room was not renovated like previous rooms, it was clean. The room featured two twin beds which were very comfortable. The room itself was very clean and maid service was excellent.

I tend to stay at this location when I have business in the village or midtown due to its convenience especially at the price point. This location offers easy and quick access to any location within the city due to being steps from a major subway station.

It was great to see the lobby renovation finally complete and breakfast being served in a restaurant in the lobby area instead of the small bar on the 2nd floor.

The selection of breakfast items were adequate but it would be nice to see some additional hot choices.

The hotel offers in-room WiFi which seemed to work well, but the free plan does have a fairly low speed, so I tend to use my cellular hotspot when I need to access things quicker.

The business center had machines that allowed me to print my return boarding pass.

I am impressed with this hotel each time I stay here and cannot believe the price. The rooms are decent sized, larger (and better layout) than many other hotels in Manhattan.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to others when they need to visit the city either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, Manager at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review and taking time to share your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again, please return again soon. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even better stay at Hotel Stanford next time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

It's all about the location. If you are looking for a hotel in a centre of Manhattan, dont want to pay a fortune for your hotel, are ready to accept some drawbacks, then go for Stanford.

PROs:
- great location. Literally few steps to anywhere in central Manhattan.
- friendly staff. all our complaints were addressed immediately.
- the rooms are clean spacious.

CONs:
- some of the rooms have very poor view. first room we were offered had walls literally right behind the windows - so there was no light at all. we changed it to one of the "front view" rooms, so it was better.
- the windows were dirty. try to imagine not washing your home windows for several years - you got the idea.
- if you use the stairs, you can see chipped worn walls, dirty floor, different tools scattered there.
- rooms are a bit noisy - from both outside traffic and from the hallways.

Breakfast: bagels, philly cheese, butter, jam. coffee, tea. thats actually all. Again: good if you are on budget.

Generally, you get what you pay for. Take it or leave it.

Room Tip: Always ask for a front view room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JerryGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, Manager at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review and taking time to share your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again, please return again soon. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even better stay at Hotel Stanford next time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#290 of 468 in New York City
2,571 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 468 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#298 of 468 in New York City
1,070 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: €114 - €397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stanford NYC is a boutique urban retreat offering 124 cozy rooms and suites. Each one is beautifully equipped to meet the needs of Manhattan business and leisure travelers with plush, premium bedding, Bath & Body Works amenities and 42-inch plasma televisions with cable channels. Designed with the idea that today’s guest seeks out authentic connections to the cities they visit, Hotel Stanford offers warm, friendly pied-à-terre moments from New York City’s most famous attractions, restaurants and shopping, including the Empire State Building, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Theatre and Garment Districts and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing