We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stanford is a standard one”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #308 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Certainly not a hotel I will remember in the future however what I can say about it is that it was fairly clean and in the center of NYC. I went to the Stanford at the beginning of November last year and I spent 4 nights there before catching a cruise in the port of NYC. Unfortunately it was under renovation when I went therefore there was quite alot of construction going on inside and out, and believe me its not a nice start when you arrive at your hotel which looks like a hole from the outside due to to all construction works. So the inside is quite dark and gloomy I would say in my view but that may be because of the works going on. The room was fairly large for 3 people, 2 double beds and a fairly decent bathroom, I did love the size of the shower I have to say. However we had a stingy little window and our view was literally an alley way which was constantly dark which is not what you like to see when visiting new york. In terms of food, breakfast was included but there wasn't much variety just your standard cereal, muffins, toast, bagels and yoghurts, and of course coffee, tea and juice. Yoghurts were actually delicious. But the breakfast area was literally a small room with a couple chairs thrown around and if you wouldn't arrive there early you would have to seat with either strangers on their table or not sit at all, which is not a fab idea for me. Staff were polite at all times I must say but apart from this not somewhere I would go again.

Room Tip: Top floor which hopefully includes a good view
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crissymacano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, Manager at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor
and please accept my apologies for all of the issues you experienced with us. We are sorry to hear the view did not meet your expectation. Thank you for recognizing our convenient location and clean room.
Thanks again for recommending us and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even better stay at Hotel Stanford next time!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stanford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic Location, clean room, limited breakfast choices, but worth it for the convenient location to all the restaurants, food market crossed the street and all night deli near by, will be back again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This was my third stay at this hotel. There is a reason for guests returning - they're happy with the hotel. This time around though, the hotel did not deliver, and this was mainly on housekeeping. Upon checking the bathroom, there was a used bar of soap, shampoo bottle cap, starnds of hair - the cleaning was way below par. After discussing with the front desk (they asked me to e-mail pictures and a complaint which I did, and which I have still not received a reply to) we were upgraded to another and bigger room. While slooking for an electrical outlet I found two empty bottles that had not been taken out. So, as for staying here agin, I really have to give it a thought. If gthey want my money they need to get housekeeping to do a better job.
Apart from that, the hotel is very centrally located within walking distance from Penn Station and between 5th and 6th Avenue.
Breakfast is not much to brag about, but that is not unusual in this city when it comes to hotels. But there are plenty of places around the corner to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MrWhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, Manager at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, and please accept my apologies for all of the issues you experienced with us. We are sorry to hear the Housekeeping did not meet your expectation. We regret that we were unaware of your discomfort prior to your departure.

We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again, please return again soon. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even better stay at Hotel Stanford next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Stayed at hotel having booked last minute for 6 nights for three adults, knew from website minor disruption to lobby area before going however i would say it's quite major as there's only. Walkway past desk and to lifts.
Room was a junior suite and was really big with two double beds a small sofa and chair as well as a fridge in the room, bathroom was very good with a good shower and bath.
Our room was at back of hotel however with a new multi storey building being built at about 5m from window meant it was very noisy as a outside elevator went up and down constantly even during the night and this sounded like a train coming right through your room , sleep quality for the first four nights was awful. I complained but was told they can't do much as it's noise from external source- room was very warm as was most areas in hotel and it couldn't be cooled . Inly thing missing in room was tea or coffee facilties
Breakfast was same everyday and consisted of 3 cereals, tea/ coffee orange/ water banana or strawberry yohurts selection of bagels, mini muffins and apples or bananas.
It was a bit small in the room they are temporarily using while work goes on.
Location was very good , one block from Penn station and close to Macys and other shops and attractions. We walked everywhere most days like Bryant Park, 5th Avenue , Times Square etc
Only 1 lift serving all rooms so can be slow at times but not awful.
Staff seemed friendly, safe in room and was cleaned everyday to a good standard.
We got this at a very keen price and room was great but wouldn't be a first choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid back of hotel where building work going on.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Arrived at this hotel on 30 December 2016. Had been booked since May for 12 of us for 3 nights. Scaffolding over most of the front, notices in window stating that work to reception/cafe was being carried out - since April! One lift, 12 storeys, room with 2 singles, dark and dingy, bathroom like something out of Psycho, stains on carpet, air con in bathroom kept us awake most of the night and whatever was in air con in room gave us puffy eyelids every morning. Breakfast was available in dark piano bar, coffee from an urn, t bags, small yoghurt and bagels with cream cheese and a few miniature muffins. The street outside was filthy, piles of black sacks with stinking rubbish, all in all not very pleasant. For this we paid nearly $900. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzi-do-little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#290 of 468 in New York City
2,571 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#243 of 468 in New York City
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#269 of 468 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#300 of 468 in New York City
1,070 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: €113 - €397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stanford NYC is a boutique urban retreat offering 124 cozy rooms and suites. Each one is beautifully equipped to meet the needs of Manhattan business and leisure travelers with plush, premium bedding, Bath & Body Works amenities and 42-inch plasma televisions with cable channels. Designed with the idea that today’s guest seeks out authentic connections to the cities they visit, Hotel Stanford offers warm, friendly pied-à-terre moments from New York City’s most famous attractions, restaurants and shopping, including the Empire State Building, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Theatre and Garment Districts and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing