We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,095)
Filter reviews
10,095 results
Traveller rating
3,037
3,387
2,065
949
657
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,037
3,387
2,065
949
657
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand central station great location new york chrysler building club level times square large hotel busy hotel bryant park hotel lobby king room late check nyc hotel big apple few blocks subway manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 10,095 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for the weekend so we would attend the tournament of Champions squash at Grand Central. The hotel is connected to Grand Central and the location is central.
We checked in with our mobile phones and picked up our keys from a machine that generated them in the lobby. Seamless!
Great room, very clean. The bar was had a great view but we found it a little pricey, even for NYC. Two martinis with tip were $50. That's about right for NYC but the service and ambiance did not warrant it. There is a quick market that has everything from Starbucks to sandwiches. We checked in late and the bar did not have food so my daughter had to buy it from the market in the lobby and bring it to the bar.

Overall a good hotel and great location, the price was right!

Room Tip: Get a higher room and ask for a view of the city and not another wall.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Team_365, General Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Don G,

We strive to impress our guests and were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, welcoming hospitality, comfortable accommodations, and of course a location particularly perfect for your needs! Thank you for sharing your wonderful review, we hope you will return to New York and spend time with us again, until then.

Best regards,
John Schafer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The best part of my experience at the Grand Hyatt was interactions with a truly pleasant and helpful staff. Keep up the good work. The entire weekend went very smoothly. Location is excellent. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 922vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Team_365, General Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear 922vickie,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful appreciation for our amazing team, they were thrilled to read your warm review. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
John Schafer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I received a generous welcome gift to help celebrate me and my friend's completion of our dissertations. We received an upgrade to a junior suite, and they gave us champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, assortment of nuts, balloons and a hand-written note acknowledging my status with the hotel. It was super memorable and special.
The breakfast in the lunge was delicious. Fruit was fresh!! The bananas were perfectly ripe. I also loved the spicy tuna and sandwiches in the evening too. But the bacon was way too crispy.
I wish they would have stored my bag for free after checked out. Instead I had to pay $6 to store 2 bags while I went to lunch. I did not like that.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marcusr987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Team_365, General Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear marcusr987,

Our congratulations once more for reaching this huge milestone in your education career, we were delighted to be part of your celebrations and are thrilled that our gestures helped make your stay so memorable. We regret the need to impose a handling fee for storage, but hope you can appreciate that with a hotel the size of Grand Hyatt New York, this service requires a significant level of support to keep it running smoothly for the convenience of all of our valued guests. We are pleased this did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay and hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Best wishes,
John Schafer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for the location. Looked like a nice place to stay. But do yourself a favor, stay somewhere else if that’s the location you’re looking for. The front desk staff couldn’t have been more rude. Asked for two rooms next to each other (brought our assistant to watch our son) when we called over a week before. The guy gave my wife and 10-month old son the biggest attitude. Wouldn’t help them at all. Then he gave me a huge attitude to as well and put us on the opposite ends of the floor. Obviously it was done on purpose. If it didn’t happen to me personally I would’ve thought it was kind of a funny prank. But after a long drive, and given I was spending $800 per night, I wasn’t amused. Asked for the manager and he would barely speak to us. Was also horribly rude. Upgraded my assistant to a small suite next to ours on the floor, which was nice of him. But the entire staff couldn’t have been worse to deal with. The bell men and housekeeping seemed to be nice people. But the deteriorating condition of the room, and nonsense we had to deal with, just put a bad taste in our mouths and poor start to our time in NY. Again, do yourselves a favor, stay someplace else if you can help it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Team_365, General Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hello Brian H,

Feedback is always appreciated as it allows us a window into the guest stay. Learning about what you particularly adored during a your stay and where we may elevate the experience helps us to achieve our overall goal of providing authentic hospitality and a uniquely memorable New York experience for each and every guest. We regret that a sold-out situation meant that we were unable to fulfill your room requests but are pleased we were able to offer a solution. However, we were alarmed by your engagement with some of our staff and will be reviewing your comments internally to ensure that our welcoming hospitality is demonstrated by all. Please accept our apologies for a less than perfect reception; we hope that you will allow us another opportunity to win your heart on a future visit to New York.

Sincerely yours,
John Schafer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

The best thing about the hotel is location. It is located right beside the Grand Central and it is even connected to the station through a walkway. Very helpful, especially in the winter.

However, it is terrible for a luxury hotel.

For starters, they tried to cheat us on breakfast. We stayed for 9 nights on a corporate package for a large multinational company. The company booked over 20 rooms for this particular instance and told us since arrival that none of the rooms had breakfast and it cost $75 to add it to the room. It was only until the one in charge of making the booking made a big fuss about the contract and they decided to honor the contract two days after. The rest of the team were gone though. We stayed 2 more nights so were only able to avail of breakfast for the last two days. We had to get breakfast somewhere else as we had to work around our daily travel budget and having it at the hotel would set us back around $40 per head per day. So technically they owed us 7 days worth of breakfast.

We had a couple of small children's books mailed to the hotel to bring back home as gifts and there was a charge of $15 as receiving fee. We tried to have it waived but the manager just said that it is written on the website. We admit to not having read the website in detail as we have stayed in several hotels around the world, and particularly in Marriott and Westin hotels in the US, and they charged us nothing to have something received. Anyway, our attempts went down the drain as they continued to charge us for it. We were told we should have read the website first. Fair enough. But $15 to compensate for 7 days worth of breakfast would have been a good compromise if they indeed wanted to look after their clients and guests.

Moreover, when we tried to sit at the restaurant to work and use the our laptops, we were told that you need to order something in order to sit there. I think this is a bit too much as we did have some nights in during our entire stay and ordered overpriced drinks at the bar. Apparently, being a guest does not entitle you to use a chair and a table within the hotel for a couple of hours.

The rooms had no coffee maker, no complimentary tea or hot chocolate no bathrobes, toiletries (except soap, shampoo, conditioner and tissues), slippers, and everything else expected from a 4-5 star or a "luxury hotel." I just read on the website that some of these items can be requested after they told us about the mailroom charge being written in the website. I believe these policies should be communicated upon check in or at least printed off and given to the guest of left in the room. However, for a "luxury hotel", these items should be readily in the room for convenience.

For cleanliness, we weren't so happy with the housekeeping. They did not vacuum the floors regularly as I was in the room one time seeing them clean and saw no vacuum cleaner. The bathroom floors still had hair left all over the floor for most of the days and the rest of the bathroom were just not clean as it should be.

The walls are also very thin. We could hear conversations from next door right through the walls and a baby crying at 3 in the morning for a couple of nights.

If you are to stay at this hotel, only expect to pay for the location, as it is definitely hard to beat but expect low service quality and overpriced charges for everything ($15 to have one business shirt washed, $8 for Coke, $8 for coffee, $5 for water plus taxes and tips). I suggest you stay at other hotels within the area.

Room Tip: our room was very noisy. ask for a quiet room if there is such a thing.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Team_365, General Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Maureen P,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues and we thank you for providing your detailed review. While we are delighted that you enjoyed our outstanding location, we regret that other aspects of your stay fell short. We hope that all of our guests leave us having enjoyed their time in NYC, and having made good memories of their time with at Grand Hyatt New York. We would very much like the opportunity of discussing your concerns with you, and invite you to reach out to the email provided below with your contact information and stay dates, and a senior member of our team will be in touch. Thank you once more and we hope for another opportunity to impress you and your colleagues on a future visit to New York.

Kind regards,

John Schafer
General Manager
guestexperiencenycgh@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews