We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice art deco, close to Times Square, large rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #312 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice art deco, close to Times Square, large rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I only stayed one night at this hotel for a business conference but I enjoyed it. The hotel is close to Times Square which allowed me to take a walk and visit this sight despite my strict schedule. The hotel staff was quite friendly, the rooms spacious and clean. The room furthermore offered all amnesties one needs during a stay in a hotel. Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
We are happy to that you had an excellent stay with us and found our facilities and service meeting your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,138
    3,603
    1,947
    707
    469
See reviews for
2,514
2,888
373
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

1st review but hopefully many more to come

I spent a lot of effort finding the right balance of location, value and quality for our family of 4.
Pleased with ... location - 100 yards or so from Times Square; security - were asked to show our key before entering elevators, large 2 room suite but very tiny bathroom

Disappointed with ... Shower could not provide a balance of hot or cold water, morning 1 was just plain cool water, morning 2 my wife practically scolded herself (I didn't attempt a shower on morning 2 because of the issues

In the middle of the 2nd night we were awoken by load banging in the bathroom. There is a silver pipe in the corner that comes out of the floor and extends through the ceiling. The noise was inside the pipe. I touched it and it was no less than 200 degrees (Perhaps it supplies hot water or is part of the heating system). The noise stopped but it was unsettling.

I did not speak to front desk about water or the noise since I'm not one to complain or make a scene. At checkout the clerk did not ask if I was pleased with the stay (had he I would have shared my concerns).

Room Tip: Check water temperature and beware of the silver pipe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were disappointed with with the water temperature fluctuating. It is certainly understandable. By way of explanation and not as an excuse, we are in the process of renovations and sometimes water needs to be shut off temporarily. Notices regarding water shut downs are normally posted in the elevators. However, we are glad that you loved our location, and that you found our security staff to be helpful. I hope that you will give us another chance to earn your trust in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

we booked this after changing hotels after reading bad reviews. This was recommended to me by friends who stayed there two years ago.
We booked a suite 2 with two single beds and a seperate living area. Cant fault the room yes its not modern but its a 1930's art deco hotel if your looking for glass walls and stainless steel bathroom fittings then try the W hotel next door. Our room had a lovely charm to it and yes the bathroom is small but it more than enough for what you need to do in it.
I pre ordered the balloons and cupcakes for the room upon arrival, they were not there unfortunately but one call to reception and Marla Edgar came up within 10mins with them and also a breakfast and cocktail voucher which was unexpected but very appreciated.
The staff from the reception desk to the concierge were very helpful and polite.
My only complaint was the price of the wifi which we didnt use at nearly $4 for 30mins is excessive and i noticed upon checkout you can become a member of the hotel for free and one of the perks is free wifi. So i will look into this if we ever return to New York.
Overall i would highly recommend this hotel its right on the doorstep of times sq and is perfect for sight seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for the noise of the traffic and if you can get a suite its worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay here. It was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We are glad that the location was convenient for you. We will share your comments with the staff so that we can continue to make future stays for all our guests most enjoyable. We do apologize that the cupcakes were not in the room upon check-in, but relieved that Marla was able to rectify that issue quickly. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Near theaters, hop on hop off bus stop, shopping and restaurants, the Edison is a perfect hotel for first time visitors to NYC.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quiet and 6 elevators make for convenient transfers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We deeply value your relationship with the Edison Hotel and are committed to providing the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the best. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We came here for New Years Eve to see the ball drop. This hotel had the most convenient location: right next to Times Square. The lobby looked really nice, so we were under the impression that this would be a great hotel. WRONG!!! Once we got up the elevator to the room, we could smell unsmoked marijuana in the hallways and the walls looked dirty. We went inside the room and it wasn't the cleanest. I went to the bathroom and the toilet didn't stop flushing for a good 6 minutes (no exaggeration!). The beds were uncomfortable. It was horrible. The only good things about it were its location and lobby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Let us apologize for the issues you had at our hotel recently. Let us also reassure you that we are constantly updating the facility to provide excellent accommodations and service for our guests. Your issues have been forwarded to the director of engineering for his necessary action and to further improve our service. At least the location was right for you so thank you and hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,066 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#290 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,489 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#370 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,590 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,895 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#354 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing