We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,760)
Filter reviews
2,760 results
Traveller rating
622
1,319
563
167
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
1,319
563
167
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarenew yorkhell's kitchenindoor poolintrepid museumminute walkcentral parklincoln tunnelthe penthousefew blocksgood sizetwo double bedsstayed here for nightsrestaurant rowper daysuperior roomroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
1,308 - 1,313 of 2,760 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in december 2012. We upgraded to a deluxe queen room with two queens sized beds and they were very comfortable. It cost 25 dollars + tax per night for the updgrade - should have been 40 dollars per night but I had previously emailed the hotel and was offered this price online - had to haggle slightly to get it at that price though! The room was enormous and very comfortable. Some of the fittings were a but poor with some sockets away from the wall and the rail in the wardrobe coming out of the wall. The air conditioning/heating unit was very noisy and not much use. 2 huge drawbacks were that here was no coffee making facilities and we had to pay for the wifi in the room - which was limited to one laptop or phone only - so if two people wanted to use it you had to pay twice! It was in a good location with both times square and central park within walking distance. Taxi's were easy to flag outside and most of the staff were friendly. I have been to New York twice before and think that the beds were the best I've had but the facilities at the other hotels were better - eg. coffee making facilities, free wifi and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe queen room .. this is in the renovated part of the hotel and not so old fashioned
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chippy378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Hotel is central about 10 min walk away from Times Square. room was nice and clean, the only problem we had was the cleaner who didnt knock when entering the room, one morning it was 8am! just coming out of shower!
other than that.it was fine.there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. but the restaurant downstairs will sell a takeaway one. we did find out at the end of the week you can hire a kettle if you wish. worth asking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyshoesSurreyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Recently stayed at the Skyline with a friend while on a Christmas shopping trip to NY, hotel was fine, room really big with two double beds, cleaned every day & fresh towels. The safe wasn't working when we got to our room but after ringing down someone came straight up to fix it. The shower wasn't working properly, very low pressure & only luke warm bordering on cold. We advised reception & an engineer was meant to come up & fix it but it wasn't fixed & remained the same throughout our visit. Restaurant was fine, I'd give breakfast a miss as there are plenty of places around to eat, we had an evening meal in the restaurant & that was fine. The only thing I would say about the location is the fact it's on 10th Avenue & at night between 8th & 10th Avenue there are a few places you do feel quite vulnerable, that said we never had any problems but in future I wouldn't stay so far down. I would recommend the NY Onboard Tours, we had a great day with them. The Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island were closed due to the storm damage & we were advised they probably wouldn't be open to visit until around March/April 2013.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 228, it was a great size, at the back so didn't get lots of traffic noise, no view, overlooked a car park, people upstairs could be heard walking about.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherwell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

When we first arrived we were greeted by a wonderful man in the reception. He welcomed us and gave us coupons for free drinks in the bar.

The hotel is not of great standards, but it is acceptable. The location is great. Everything is within walking distance if you're European. Americans would most likely take a cab even to Times Square two blocks away, but that's their cultural heritage.

We stayed for 5 nights. I understand that marijuana is legal in the US now. There was a smell of pot lingering on our floor during our stay. A part of American culture that I don't care for.

Our TV remote ran out of batteries and we asked to have them replaced. They sent someone up after we were in bed and put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. He/she did not care and woke us up with a loud knock.

The restaurant leaves a lot to desire. I would just simply avoid it. It lacks all culinary ingredients one is looking for in a dining experience.

The last day we asked if we could leave our bags at the hotel. We were met with an attitude that was humiliating, shaming and embarrassing. I have never been made feel so stupid in my life.

What started a good experience when we first arrived ended up in a disaster. I will never advice anyone to stay here. There are so many hotels in NYC and places like this do not need business. But if you like the smell of marijuana and being treated like a dog, this is your place.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Skyline Hotel is located on 10th Avenue which is great for a lot of the New York sights which are within easy walking distance. You will find that many locals dont walk far and to go a few blocks is miles for them. The Hotel itself looks ok in the lobby but is a little shabby around the edges. We stayed for 5 nights in room 201 which was located at the back of the hotel and looked over the rooftops of nearby buildings. The room was located next to the lift which you could hear every time someone used it. We couldnt get a double room so had to make do with a twin, it was cleaned every day and fresh towels placed in the bathroom. Not the largest of rooms but adequate as you dont live in the room whilst in New York. There were long hairs on the floor in the bathroom which were there all week. The hotel does have a restaurant attached called PJ Bricks which is very much like a sports bar serving burgers and fries. The hotel charges you $1 per bag if you check out but want to return for your luggage. You have to pay for this in cash and if you cant you get attitude from the bell captain (which wasnt pleasant). The maid wants to clean your room at 8.30am so if you have a lie in, be prepared to be woken up. Towards the end of the stay there was a strong smell of someone smoking pot in their room. This was just a very average hotel and was by far not the best place I have ever stayed, but there again, wasnt the worst place either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for a quieter room. The hotel is on a main road.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews