We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay as always”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #272 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Skyline Hotel is our choice for a city hotel. Always a great value for city standards plus its our desired location for midtown activities. Rooms are consistently clean and the staff quite helpful. The new bar and restaurant is attractive but a bit on the over priced side. A traditional breakfast consisting of eggs cost four in our group $80 bucks. We didn't see that coming. Didn't utilize the new bar area because of breakfast prices turned us off so much, but the location is perfect for nightlife and dining within walking distance. The Skyline is an excellent stay and we highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shoeindynutz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,339 - 1,343 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel has very large rooms by NYC standards. Very clean. Only downside was it is a little far from most of the tourist attractons.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

we checked in at 3pm thinking we could swim before dinner. The pool was closed for lessons for the local residents. There was a constant smell of smoke on our floor. Someone was smoking but nothing was done to stop it. We went to the pool the next morning again. Closed again - this time for kids swimming lessons. They have sold the pool to the local area residents but are still telling guests that it is available - it is not.
There was astrong smell of air freshner in every hall. It was masking some odor but couldn't overcome the odor of smoke on the second floor.
The arrival is poorly planned. When you arrive, you are instructed by signs and attendants (who have asked you if you are checking in) to go down a ramp and park at the end. You then have to lug your luggage up the ramp to the lobby where the bell hop will gladly give you a hand.
The people were very nice and accomodating but we will not return.

Room Tip: don't choose - go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldsnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at the Skyline during the week between Christmas and New Years. We arrived at 10 am and instead of just dumping our luggage, we were shown to our large updated room many hours prior to their official check-in. Service was first class and all employees from the concierge to the cleaning staff were most accomodating and helpful. Location was good including a few good places to eat nearby. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We used this on a family trip.Our main aim was to go around the city rather than stay in the hotel.This was a nice place though.Rooms were good. Staff were friendly.No complaints.We did not have food from the hotel though, since there wer plenty of good places around!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,429 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#275 of 469 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#176 of 469 in New York City
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 469 in New York City
819 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#224 of 469 in New York City
1,093 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 469 in New York City
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €112 - €328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing