We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much better from 2009”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #352 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 17 March 2012

we last stayed here in december 2009 after checking in found that are room was at the front of the hotel decided to change rooms,no problem we were sent to the b tower .it looks like the room we were in had not been decorated for years mould in the shower area (which puts my wife off straight away!!) is not a good sign,comfortable bed again but as before other guests did not seem to realise that they were not the only people staying there .twice we were woken up in the early hours by people shouting in the corridors!! we dont think that we will stay here again in the future

Room Tip: dont get one at the front of the hotel far too noisy
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

clarkey58,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,357)
There are newer reviews for The Watson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,238 - 2,242 of 4,357 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Agree with vacationer102. Really good location. Older accommodations but clean. We would definitely stay again. Staff was very friendly and felt safe the whole time. Walked to most areas. Loved the location to Central Park and loved spending time exploring there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacalover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I'm not sure why this hotel gets such good reviews. My experience was extremely unpleasant. The front desk person that checked me in was rude and condescending, My room stunk of cigarette smoke, there was no air conditioning, the wireless network rarely worked, and the place was dirty.

I stayed in B Tower which hasn't been renovated, (at least I don't think it has) and maybe A Tower would have been better.

Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, (the man that stored baggage was wonderful) but most of the staff tended to look right through you. The bartender in the afternoon was surly and rude.

I will NEVER stay here again even though the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tisiddk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

tisiddk,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Room in Tower A. Convenient to subway, Whole Foods, Central Park; not a bad walk to broadway/ts. Bathroom recently renovated/very clean; TV great; bed-queen -- ok; no view; I'd stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationer102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Before leaving I read some reviews about the hotel and was worried...but when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean the staff were helpful and the atmosphere was good. I stayed in a twin double room and for a NY hotel room it was very spacious. The room was clean and the bathroom was small but nice. Times Square is about 10-15 minutes walk and the nearest subway is about a 5 minute walk. Dont be put off by the bad reviews, at the end of the day this isnt a luxury hotel, its a Holiday Inn. I would defo stay here again. I've stayed on Times Square before and the rooms were tiny, so this hotel is in my top 5. TIPS: get a room above floor 10. If you want to get to this hotel from JFK airport for less than 8dollars do the following: from JFK get the air train to Howard Beach Station(cost 5dollars) then you need to get the A train to 59th street (cost 2.25 dollars) and then from there you can walk 2 blocks. The whole journey takes about 1.15 hours. SIMPLE!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#269 of 468 in New York City
2,540 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 468 in New York City
4,925 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 468 in New York City
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 468 in New York City
6,934 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,941 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
7,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: €129 - €331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing