We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Loved it. What a great hotel. First time in NY, after 24 hours of travelling, arriving at this hotel was bliss. We booked the King Suite, and had an outdoor enclosed heated balcony, the room was very spacious. We were celebrating our anniversary, so the chocs and bottle of wine was a nice touch. The free breakfast was perfect, loved the bagels and the girls who worked there were always so nice and accommodating. The wine and cheese in the evening was always handy especially if you just wanted something light to eat after a day of eating indulgently! The hotel was probably abit out of the way and not that many nice eateries close by but if you don't mind walking/using the subway - the location was not a big deal. At least it was quiet. Our Miss 4 loved it. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloegsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Chloegsr,

Thank you for sharing your anniversary experience! All of us were delighted to hear all of your wonderful comments mentioning the unique touches that make the Elysée so special. We are particularly pleased when our Australian friends, who must travel such a long distance, find their experience to be all that they hoped while in our care. Already, we look forward to welcoming you back and it would be my pleasure to handle your return visit personally. With nearly twenty years experience here, I would especially enjoy assisting you in choosing any one of the many extraordinary restaurants in our immediate vicinity. For all of our friends on Tripadvisor, within three blocks of the Elysée are Aquavit, Ben Benson’s Steakhouse, the Modern, La Grenouille, the Brasserie and Casa Lever. Also, we are home to the world famous Monkey Bar, just steps away from our elevator. The Monkey Bar offers hotel guests a taste of cosmopolitan New York, featuring modern American cuisine and classic cocktails specifically designed to enhance your dining experience or to kick off your night on the town. Also, we are just across the street from Bill’s an old speakeasy offering American favorites in its historic piano bar, offering nightly entertainment harkening to days gone by. Cellini’s another midtown favorite is also across the street, specializing in northern Italian fare. Open for both lunch and dinner; keep your eye out for their daily specials many of which include ingredients from the owner’s garden! My Guest Service Agents tell me one of their favorite duties is recommending restaurant selections based on guests’ personal preferences. Never hesitate to ask for assistance, as we are all available to ensure your stay is as memorable and enjoyable as Chloegsr!

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,003
    682
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
829
1,860
167
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We recently stayed at this property over the long President's Day Weekend. I could not have been more pleased. If you are looking for a small, boutique experience in the Mid-town east area, this is the place for you. It really stands out as there are so many large, impersonal chains from which to choose, but this is a unique experience.

Hotel: Small, but rooms are very generous for NYC. Very cozy and quaint, if just so ever slightly dated (bathrooms are marble, and nice, but aging). The best part is that it is very quiet! We were on the 14th floor and actually had a very large outdoor patio (rare in NYC). Even with cracking open the door for fresh air at night, there was very little street noise.

Service: First class service. All the employees at the desk and the door are there to help with every request and offer helpful advice. We were celebrating an anniversary and were very surprised and pleased to find a bottle of prosecco and a box of chocolates upon our arrival.

Location: Just blocks from Central Park, 5th and Madison Ave shopping and all the best areas of Manhattan. Everything is very walkable and there are subway stations near.

Daily Breakfast: A very nice touch in a cozy room, offering coffee, pastries, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs etc. Great for those that don't want to take the time (or spend the calories) on a large sit-down meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid street noise (although the hotel is situated on a quiet street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adagiolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I visit NYC three times a year for business and always return to Elysee. The staff is always very pleasant; the location is awesome and the hotel reminds me of my travels throughout Europe. The breakfast, that is free, is fantastic and is a great added value; it would cost $50 per person around the corner at the St. Regis. The rooms are very nice and always clean. I am reluctant to write this because I feel like it is still my little secret; oh well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Themoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My family just returned from a trip to New York where we felt like we had traveled to Paris. The Elysee Hotel is a gem and is in one of the most accessible locations for vacationing in Manhatten. It's staff is reminiscent of European trained concierge desks, the rooms are more like a stay in a 5 star B & B, with not only breakfast included but also complementary hor d'oeuvres and wine during the week. Connected to the famous "Monkey Bar" restaurant and bar you have everything at your fingertips and with a French flair. You can't find a better value or more prestigious hotel that enables you to truly enjoy the busy city atmosphere of New York.

Room Tip: I like the rooms which face the rear of the hotel which eliminates street noise and are roomy and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineconosewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
304 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. Last time was in 2010, we loved it so much we came back. We stayed in a standard room, where it was roomy and very clean. The hotel was full as US Open tennis was underway, this was our sole purpose of going back to NY. The staff are very friendly, helpful and chatty, just like 2 years ago. We were glad to hear the wine & cheese nights were still going as this is a good way to sample some of America's wines which we love to do. Breakfast was fantastic, the bagels are the best in the world. Fruit salad so fresh and boiling water for your tea or coffee which you do not get everywhere. Our room was facing the street, and in NY style, there was road works going on which they like to do late at night or start very early in the morning, hence our sleep was not the best, but this was no fault of the hotels. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the attractions. As this is our 2nd visit to NY and have been to all the tourist attractions, this time we walked throughout the neighbourhoods which is a great way to get a different vibe for the place. We were very happy to see Bill's (across the road) still there, which we frenquented every night for a night cap. We had dinner there one night and the food was excellent, so do yourself a favour and go there. I would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing