We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Suite-style Hotel in a Great Mid-town Location”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #36 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very Nice Suite-style Hotel in a Great Mid-town Location”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

What a beautiful hotel in a great location! Rooms are spacious with many being suite-style. Beautiful tile bathrooms with double sinks and large bath/shower areas. Plenty of amenities in the room as well with microwaves, refrigerators, large screen TV's, and balconies. Easy walk to many nice restaurants and mid-town attractions. Nice complementary full breakfast included on roof top dining area.

I highly recommend staying here for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    521
    112
    49
    23
See reviews for
597
420
57
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I hesitate to even write a review about this wonderful hotel because I would love to keep this little gem secret so that it does not become too popular.

Seriously, this place was a great find. The hotel was running a promotion for weekday stays in January. If you can believe it, I got a luxury suite for only $239, including a full breakfast. Suspicious and fussy people (like me) me might conclude that this place must be a dump to be offered at that price, but they would be dead wrong. The place is terrific from top to bottom.

The front desk and lobby are very small, but check-in was a breeze. The two relatively small elevantors were very efficient, keeping wait time to a minimum. The best part of the place is the recently-renovated suiites. The living room is bigger than most home living rooms. It was beautifully funished with a sofa, easy chairs, an antique desk, a table to eat at, a nice little kitchen for those who care about that in NY (including plates and silverware, a refrigeratory, microwave, etc.), and a big wall-mounted HD television. The bedroom was also very large, with a beautiful king bed, a large closet with everything from a robe and clogs to an umbrella. The bedding seemed brand new and the bed itself was fabulous with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was small, but did have counter space, and the rainfall shower was a nice touch.

The staff and service were very accomodating, from the front desk to the very attentive door staff.

The location was great (on 50th between Third Avenue and Lexington), and there are a ton of eating options nearby.

My only constructive criticism is that it is hard to plug a laptop into the wall at the desk in the living room, which could also use a touch more light for reading. But these are just nits.

I am a frequent traveler to NY, and this place will be on the top of my list when I need to stay on the East Side. My only concern is that this place will raise its rates so that it will go from a steal to a price more comensurate with the great accomodations and service it offers.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back off the street side or a higher floor to minimize street noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Kimberly during January 2012. The web site said free breakfast during January and February and discount on the room. We had a 2 room suite with coffee maker and refrigerator. The room and bed were great. The people were very friendly. The breakfast was on the top floor with a great view, and made to order eggs. It was easy access to the subway.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I have stayed in the Kimberly hotel twice and have to say it has a lovely homely atmosphere. Its a perfect location for all the attractions. Have stayed in other New York hotels but this oned is by far the BEST!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ribulmibul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This place is a home away from home - great value for the money, great location, big rooms, comfy bed and wonderful service. Room had full kitchen, reasonable prices on minibar/snacks anad great amenities. Free breakfast was amazing and the service overall was impeccable. Spent three nights here and really felt like I was staying at a home away from home - look no further this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 466 in New York City
1,413 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 466 in New York City
2,684 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#58 of 466 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
1,270 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#156 of 466 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing