We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jones Street Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$401
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$223
US$203
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$390
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
57
15
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
15
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorcomfortable bednew yorkliterally stepsthe ground floorfive star hoteltoilet paperevelynapartmentaccommodationbrownstonenoisesubwaylinesstovenycplumbing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at Jones Street Guesthouse in early July. We were staying only four nights, less than the six night minimum, but we booked within their limit of three weeks before arrival and it was available so we managed to get in. We had the first floor apartment which was cheapest and luckily for us easy to get in to as we had six pieces of luggage we were dragging around. No stairs to deal with. It only cost us $210 a night which was at least competive with and usually cheaper than other hotel options in NYC that we looked at, few of which were in such a good area.

Lots of good things to say about Jones Street. First off, you really are in the heart of Greenwich Village. You can literally just walk out your door and you're right there in the middle of all the action. We walked most places but when we needed to could walk one block to two different subway stops and get most anywhere in the city from there. It was actually unusually difficult to get a taxi from there for some reason, but no matter, the subway is great. The apartment itself is simple but nice, with enough room and a perfectly comfortable bed and a recently redone bathroom.

We only went up to Doma once for the breakfast. It's a few blocks up, but well worth the walk and a couple coffees and pastries fit into the budget you get with the room. We wish we'd done it a couple more times.

There's really no reason to choose a hotel over this place if you can get in. The only hiccup was picking up the key at Doma, the keys are marked by number rather than which apartment you're renting and the Doma staff didn't know the difference, so be careful. We got lucky and took the #1 key which was the basement apartment that we'd booked.

Room Tip: The upstairs room looked like it had a narrow stairway going up so careful if you have lots of luggage. Basement might be better.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take our 3-year-old daughter to NYC for a family vacation. We were looking for a place with a kitchen and one that was in a cute neighborhood (not too touristy) but gave us convenient access to a lot of other neighborhoods. We found all of this at Jones Street Guesthouse.

We stayed in the 1st floor room, which is a small studio with 1 queen size bed (and we comfortably co-slept with our daughter). The building is old but charming and renovations had been made to make the accommodations comfortable. Evelyn (the owner) provided a ton of information on neighborhood markets and restaurants and activities to check out. She even provided us with 2 different babysitters to use during our stay (both were wonderful) so my husband and I were able to go out on the town a few nights. She was extremely thoughtful and would send me emails with suggestions on where to take our daughter and on the few days it rained, she let us know where local families took their kids on rainy days, and even provided us with 2 huge boxes of kids books and toys for our daughter to play with.

The guesthouse is in a wonderful location. It felt like you were right in the center of lots of fun shops and restaurants, but at the same time, it also felt like you were in a nice little neighborhood. Because there is a lot of exciting activity around this street, it got a little noisy on certain nights (which we expected because it's NYC!), but once we closed the windows and turned on the A/C, our room was peaceful and quiet.

We spent 8 nights here and absolutely loved it. Really great neighborhood that is walking distance (or a short subway ride away) to lots of wonderful places. Evelyn and her family are lovely and we would love to stay here again on our next visit to NYC!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank kittykatshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed in Jones Street Guesthouse for 7 nights. It was our first time in New York and we couldn't be happier with our accommodation. Jones Street is a relatively quiet street in an otherwise vibrant area with lots of cosy bars and small shops. The smoothie bar and Cones ice cream on each end of the street were frequently visited, and John's Pizza is just a few steps away. The subway stations are nearby, which made it easy to get around. The room (apt #1) is very cosy and has a lot of charm, as if it hasn't changed since the 60s. Despite this old charm, it's very clean and well kept and the bed is very good. After a long day of discovering New York we enjoyed coming "home" and having a cup of tea.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jerryjonesicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Makes you feel like a real New Yorker in just a few days. A few days more and you're ready to wear a beret and snap your fingers instead of clapping. Seriously, this building and neighborhood has more style & class than those costing several times as much. Evelyn was very accommodating. A pleasure to do business with. Eager to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shachomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The fact that this guest house lies in the street where the cover for the album "Freewheelin' Bob Dylan" was photographed (we only discovered this after making our booking) made it our perfect location. My husband was happy to wander around the area his favourite "song and dance man" used to inhabit.

What a great buzzy neighbourhood - more restaurants than you could visit in a month, very close to 2 subway routes, (West 4th being on the express stop list - very important late at night), and a really friendly feel. You get the sense of this being a place where people love to live.

The room was large, nicely decorated and perfect for a couple. It is an old building and the owners have kept the quirky features that make it special. We stayed for 9 very comfortable nights in the parlor apartment. Evelyn could not have been more helpful and the breakfast at Doma cafe (daily $5 vouchers for each of us) set us up wonderfully for a busy day of sightseeing (or shopping). It is hard not to overdo it in NYC, especially as this was my first visit, so on a couple of days we returned to the apartment for a mid afternoon break and it really felt like going home.

We rarely used the kitchen as the food in the area is so varied and reasonably priced (we realise how expensive everyday dining in Sydney is). It was fully equipped with cooktop/stove and a refrigerator, though a microwave and more glasses would be useful. I should add that we ate at two restaurants with Michelin stars in other areas (we did spoil ourselves) and taxis home were quick, easy and cheap.

I highly recommend this guesthouse - which is really a studio apartment with benefits - to anyone after an authentic NYC experience with all the comforts of home in a great area of a great city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BraySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews