We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delightful accommodation EVER!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most delightful accommodation EVER!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My Husband and I stayed at Jones B&B for six nights for our first time in NYC and the USA- and what a perfect introduction! The 1st floor apartment is extremely quaint (low ceilings, armchair, kitchen facilities, amazingly comfy bed) and felt like coming back to a real home after high energy days/nights out about in the city. We were delighted to just step out across the road to the very heart of Bleecker Street/Greenwich village- endless choice of great restaurants and great food shops where we could cook a meal on the odd evening (amazing cheese shop down the road). The icing on the cake was breakfasting at the owner's DOMA cafe every morning- fabulous choice, friendly staff and great coffee. Just perfect all round- we felt like New Yorkers! we hope very much to come back very soon! Thank Evelyn and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at Jones Street Guesthouse in early July. We were staying only four nights, less than the six night minimum, but we booked within their limit of three weeks before arrival and it was available so we managed to get in. We had the first floor apartment which was cheapest and luckily for us easy to get in to as we had six pieces of luggage we were dragging around. No stairs to deal with. It only cost us $210 a night which was at least competive with and usually cheaper than other hotel options in NYC that we looked at, few of which were in such a good area.

Lots of good things to say about Jones Street. First off, you really are in the heart of Greenwich Village. You can literally just walk out your door and you're right there in the middle of all the action. We walked most places but when we needed to could walk one block to two different subway stops and get most anywhere in the city from there. It was actually unusually difficult to get a taxi from there for some reason, but no matter, the subway is great. The apartment itself is simple but nice, with enough room and a perfectly comfortable bed and a recently redone bathroom.

We only went up to Doma once for the breakfast. It's a few blocks up, but well worth the walk and a couple coffees and pastries fit into the budget you get with the room. We wish we'd done it a couple more times.

There's really no reason to choose a hotel over this place if you can get in. The only hiccup was picking up the key at Doma, the keys are marked by number rather than which apartment you're renting and the Doma staff didn't know the difference, so be careful. We got lucky and took the #1 key which was the basement apartment that we'd booked.

Room Tip: The upstairs room looked like it had a narrow stairway going up so careful if you have lots of lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take our 3-year-old daughter to NYC for a family vacation. We were looking for a place with a kitchen and one that was in a cute neighborhood (not too touristy) but gave us convenient access to a lot of other neighborhoods. We found all of this at Jones Street Guesthouse.

We stayed in the 1st floor room, which is a small studio with 1 queen size bed (and we comfortably co-slept with our daughter). The building is old but charming and renovations had been made to make the accommodations comfortable. Evelyn (the owner) provided a ton of information on neighborhood markets and restaurants and activities to check out. She even provided us with 2 different babysitters to use during our stay (both were wonderful) so my husband and I were able to go out on the town a few nights. She was extremely thoughtful and would send me emails with suggestions on where to take our daughter and on the few days it rained, she let us know where local families took their kids on rainy days, and even provided us with 2 huge boxes of kids books and toys for our daughter to play with.

The guesthouse is in a wonderful location. It felt like you were right in the center of lots of fun shops and restaurants, but at the same time, it also felt like you were in a nice little neighborhood. Because there is a lot of exciting activity around this street, it got a little noisy on certain nights (which we expected because it's NYC!), but once we closed the windows and turned on the A/C, our room was peaceful and quiet.

We spent 8 nights here and absolutely loved it. Really great neighborhood that is walking distance (or a short subway ride away) to lots of wonderful places. Evelyn and her family are lovely and we would love to stay here again on our next visit to NYC!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank kittykatshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed in Jones Street Guesthouse for 7 nights. It was our first time in New York and we couldn't be happier with our accommodation. Jones Street is a relatively quiet street in an otherwise vibrant area with lots of cosy bars and small shops. The smoothie bar and Cones ice cream on each end of the street were frequently visited, and John's Pizza is just a few steps away. The subway stations are nearby, which made it easy to get around. The room (apt #1) is very cosy and has a lot of charm, as if it hasn't changed since the 60s. Despite this old charm, it's very clean and well kept and the bed is very good. After a long day of discovering New York we enjoyed coming "home" and having a cup of tea.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jerryjonesicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Makes you feel like a real New Yorker in just a few days. A few days more and you're ready to wear a beret and snap your fingers instead of clapping. Seriously, this building and neighborhood has more style & class than those costing several times as much. Evelyn was very accommodating. A pleasure to do business with. Eager to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shachomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 467 in New York City
563 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#162 of 467 in New York City
1,358 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#102 of 467 in New York City
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#223 of 467 in New York City
539 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#177 of 467 in New York City
661 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Property: Jones Street Guesthouse
Address: 31 Jones St, New York City, NY 10014-4149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing