We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hotel and very good area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #145 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and very good area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed 8 nights at the Roger Smith Hotel and enjoyed very much. Good place, near the Central Station and the Rockfeller Center, Moma, etc. As I Like to walk I went to most of the places I wanted by foot. For those who dont like there's the metro really close. People very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristal2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    653
    223
    93
    59
See reviews for
575
361
137
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

...and check into the Roger Smith, a hotel with charm, warmth, and an amazingly friendly and helpful front desk staff. We first stayed at "The Roger" about six years ago while on a business trip, and have been back at least twice a year since...always for pleasure. It's in a perfect location - an enjoyable walk to the Theater District, five blocks to Grand Central, and only 4 blocks to the 4-5-6 Trains, which will connect you to virtually every NYC sight. The high-ceilinged rooms harken back to the days when hotels were built like homes...and we certainly feel at home from the moment we enter the small, tranquil lobby, which is adorned with artwork - yet another hallmark of the Roger Smith. Stir in the coziness of Lily's, a small, quiet bar right off the lobby, and top it off with free Wireless internet, and you're sure to be a fan of the Roger Smith, too. However, if you prefer glitzy, moussed, Vegas-type hotels, perhaps you should look elsewhere. No worry; there are plenty of 'em around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is my only choice for a New York stay because from when I check in to when I check out I feel welcomed and at home. It is a little old world but that is what makes it classy. I never feel like a nameless visitor being "customer serviced" as quickly as possible. The staff is efficient, accomodating and friendly in the lowest key way. The rooms are clean, art exhibits and books are everywhere belying any idea that it is copnstructed for effect and with all the languages spoken by patrons, I feel like I am in a lovely, and sophisticated setting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthiemBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My experience at the hotel has left me with a special memory. Randy Alan Ogoff treated me with a special touch that felt like I was a long lost member of the family. When I told him it was a special occasion he offered me an upgrade . The room was amazing. The hotel was charming with a true touch of what New York City is all about. The location was perfect , the staff friendly and the breakfast at Lily's appetizing. It felt like I found a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin7102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stay in this hotel has left inconsistent memoirs. Rooms are beautifully decorated, but in the winter in them is very cold. Heaters work badly. The hotel personnel as a whole is friendly, but some workers talk to visitors very roughly. In particular receptionist Mr Randy alan Ogoff it is very rough, unfriendly, dares to offend visitors, often pretends that doesn't hear, when to him address. The main advantage of this hotel is its location. From here it is possible to reach many sights of New York by foot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moscovite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#133 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#128 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#119 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#173 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#120 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing