We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roger Smith Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$220
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Lexington Hotel, Autograph Collection(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
US$417
US$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$203
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Fitzpatrick Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$343
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,345)
Filter reviews
2,345 results
Traveller rating
1,110
809
260
101
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,110
809
260
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtfree applesnew yorklexington avenuerooftop bargrand central stationjunior suitean older hotelhome away from homestreet noisetimes squaremidtown hotelfew blockschrysler buildingspacious roomexcellent locationconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
1,535 - 1,540 of 2,345 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

...and check into the Roger Smith, a hotel with charm, warmth, and an amazingly friendly and helpful front desk staff. We first stayed at "The Roger" about six years ago while on a business trip, and have been back at least twice a year since...always for pleasure. It's in a perfect location - an enjoyable walk to the Theater District, five blocks to Grand Central, and only 4 blocks to the 4-5-6 Trains, which will connect you to virtually every NYC sight. The high-ceilinged rooms harken back to the days when hotels were built like homes...and we certainly feel at home from the moment we enter the small, tranquil lobby, which is adorned with artwork - yet another hallmark of the Roger Smith. Stir in the coziness of Lily's, a small, quiet bar right off the lobby, and top it off with free Wireless internet, and you're sure to be a fan of the Roger Smith, too. However, if you prefer glitzy, moussed, Vegas-type hotels, perhaps you should look elsewhere. No worry; there are plenty of 'em around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is my only choice for a New York stay because from when I check in to when I check out I feel welcomed and at home. It is a little old world but that is what makes it classy. I never feel like a nameless visitor being "customer serviced" as quickly as possible. The staff is efficient, accomodating and friendly in the lowest key way. The rooms are clean, art exhibits and books are everywhere belying any idea that it is copnstructed for effect and with all the languages spoken by patrons, I feel like I am in a lovely, and sophisticated setting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthiemBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My experience at the hotel has left me with a special memory. Randy Alan Ogoff treated me with a special touch that felt like I was a long lost member of the family. When I told him it was a special occasion he offered me an upgrade . The room was amazing. The hotel was charming with a true touch of what New York City is all about. The location was perfect , the staff friendly and the breakfast at Lily's appetizing. It felt like I found a home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin7102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stay in this hotel has left inconsistent memoirs. Rooms are beautifully decorated, but in the winter in them is very cold. Heaters work badly. The hotel personnel as a whole is friendly, but some workers talk to visitors very roughly. In particular receptionist Mr Randy alan Ogoff it is very rough, unfriendly, dares to offend visitors, often pretends that doesn't hear, when to him address. The main advantage of this hotel is its location. From here it is possible to reach many sights of New York by foot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moscovite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

the hotel is a boutique style hotel, the rooms are full of old furniture so you have the feeling to go back in the past, which is quite cozy. The room was certainly big enough, we had a twin bedded room with 2 bigs, great comfy beds!
the bathroom is spaciois as well and all furniture from the past is kept as well but all worked well.
The location is perfect, 5min walk to Grand Central, 10-15min walk to Times Square and a bus stop just across the street.
Breakfast is easy to get as within 100m walk from the hotel, there are more 5 cafés to have breakfast and lunch.

The disadvantage was the room temperature, we were there in January and we had to open the window all day to lower the temprarture, the heating was not on but there was a heating tube coming thru our room which was incredibly hot so this tube heated up the whole room.

The advantage of being on Lexington Av is,that the noise is less at night, during the day it is a busy avenue, but once rush hour is over, it is quite quiet for Manhattan

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews