We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,076)
Filter reviews
4,076 results
Traveller rating
2,804
793
273
117
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,804
793
273
117
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar charlie palmer times square express breakfast new york blackout blinds premier room turn down service bryant park perfect location mini bar junior suite concierge desk modern hotel fantastic hotel subway station the theater district
Filter
Updating list...
2,602 - 2,607 of 4,076 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

the hotel is very nice, with very quiet rooms, even though it is located in Times Square.
the bed was extremely comfortable.
downside, we got a room with a view to an office, adjacent to our room, so we couldn't open the curtains at all. another issue, make sure you ask for a bath, if you don't like a shower head.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mcaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn H, Managing Director at The Knickerbocker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

mcaspi, we are delighted you found a quiet and comfortable respite at "the center of the world." However, we are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. Should you allow us the opportunity, we would be happy to welcome you back with a more inspiring view, as well as a room with a bathtub for your optimal comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

A modern hotel with excellent cuisine and service. Fine, totally modern quite rooms in the heart of manhattan. And a fully equipped fitness room A really lovely place to stay while you are in NYC. Manhattan Oasis

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank elenastil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knick N Y, General Manager at The Knickerbocker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear elenastil,
Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful review with us. I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the room to the food. It is also great you got to visit the 24 hour fitness facility. We cannot wait to welcome you on your stay!

Sincerely,

Shawn Hauver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We ordered a premiere room for 4 nights in the hotel, primarily because of its location at Times square and because of the information we got that the hotel has made a major investment for making the room silent .
During our reservation made a 4 months in advance, we specified that we are very sensitive to noise and we request to get a very quiet room.
We got a large and very nice room at the 6th floor with a view to Broadway.
Unfortunately, the room was not quiet enough, specially because of drummers that were playing just below our window during the night!
Afret two difficulty nights we asked to get a quieter room and we got a room at the 16th floor with an inner view.
There were major problems with the room: it was a much smaller room and much more noise can be hearded from this room during the night.
Indeed , the room was below the hotel roof top ( one a the major hotel attractions) and next to a service stair door that was constantly used by employees.
We complained about all the disturbances during our stay and we got 300 USD discount with a late checkout.
In addition, the breakfast buffet is quite expensive and does not provide a large choice of options. It is better to take the grab and go breakfast.
As a summary, the hotel is great for its location but if you look for quiet rooms, this is not the best choice.for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 16th floor are below the roof top , especially do not take room 1615 , close to service door that is extensively used.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meneleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knick N Y, General Manager at The Knickerbocker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear Meneleos,
Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us. It is great that you enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities. I am truly sorry that we could not provide you with the quietest room throughout your stay. I am glad that you met with the front office manager to relay all these issues too. Although monetary compensation could not rewind your experience, we hope to welcome you back for another stay to turn your Knickerbocker experience around. We would love to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a suite on your next stay. We will look forward to your future NYC visit with us.
Sincerely,

Shawn Hauver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms large and bright, comfortable beds and location that can't be beaten.

Unfortunately there are a couple of draw-downs;

We reported a broken tablet on check-in (thursday) that was promised taken care of immidiately. Nothing had happened when checking out on monday.

We question how well the room are cleaned, as we found a couple of empty waterbottles under the bed when checking in.

The cleaning personel did not respect the do not disturb sign, as they came into the room on two occasions.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knick N Y, General Manager at The Knickerbocker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear Ronny S,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you found our rooms bright, beds comfortable and location perfect. However, I would like to sincerely apologize for the trouble you had waiting for a replacement tablet. I will certainly address the cleanliness in your room, we designed the beds as platform beds, and it certainly should have been seen by our housekeeping team. I am very sorry as well that your do not disturb was not explained fully at check in. This should have been explained together with the service button and black out shades remote control. I am terribly sorry that your do not disturb was broken. I am looking into this and shared your experience with our team to address your challenges with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Shauver@theknickerbocker. com. I look forward to your return in the hopes of gaining back your trust in our service.

Sincerely,

Shawn Hauver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Recently enjoyed a 6 night stay at the Knickerbocker, which was also our honeymoon. As it says above, this is a very good hotel, and beautiful building which is situated in a fantastic location just at the bottom of Times Square.
Check in was friendly and prompt, before we made our way up to our 11th floor premium room. Very pleased with the room, which was of a high standard and had a view out onto 42nd Street. The room was of a good size, with a nice comfortable bed, sofa, desk, lamps etc. The bathroom was also of a good quality, which was accompanied by a variety of toiletries. Although there was a well stocked mini bar (prices were not too bad), we did miss not having any tea/coffee making facilities. However, this was only a minor issue for us, and certainly didn't spoil our stay.
We enjoyed breakfast in the hotel twice, we was very enjoyable. We both had the breakfast buffet, which was of a high standard with plenty of variety.
The rooftop bar is clearly a major plus to this hotel, as it offers some fantastic views in a relaxing environment, directly above the hustle and bustle of times square. However, we were disappointed to find that the rooftop bar was hired out to private parties twice whilst we were there, meaning we were limited to when we could use it. Having paid good money for our stay, we found this very disappointing, and feel perhaps at least a small section of the rooftop bar should still be available for hotel guests to enjoy? As a consequence of the private parties, we were limited to which lifts we could and could'nt use to reach the 11th floor where our room was. Maybe not the best way to treat hotel guests in our opinion.
One additional issue, is a lack of information in the rooms about the services offered by the hotel. It wasn't until we were checking out that we became aware of the hotel car, which was available to drop you off anywhere within 10 blocks. This is certainly something we may have used had we known about it.
The staff were generally friendly and polite, and willing to help you with any questions you may have. Because it was our honeymoon, the hotel very kindly left us with a nice bottle of red wine, and some chocolate coated strawberries, which was a nice touch.
To conclude, in our opinion a very good hotel, we which generally enjoyed. Would we return, yes we would, but hope they can iron out the minor issues that I have mentioned.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view out onto either Broadway or 42nd street
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knick N Y, General Manager at The Knickerbocker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear Andres1,

Congratulations! I am very happy you were able to spend your special time with us and enjoyed your 6 night stay. A swift and friendly check in certainly sets the tone. Glad to know that you found your room comfortable, well equipped and of high standard and to top it off, you were able to enjoy the view. We are looking into better options for coffee and tea service, that I assure you. I do however, apologize that you were not able to enjoy St. Cloud on Wednesday and Thursday due to private events. We do have Charlie Palmer, our restaurant and lounge on the 4th floor that I am sure you will enjoy. I am happy that you had a wonderful dining experience during breakfast. The ambiance does change at night and live Jazz on from 6pm-9pm on Mondays through Thursdays. I am also sorry that you were not able to take advantage of our house car. We will make sure to have all our amenities and outles in the hotel are well communicated at check in and even have them in the rooms. We gladly take suggections. Surely helps us improve.
It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerley,

Shawn Hauver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews