We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Location, & Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Ranked #268 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Good Value, Location, & Staff!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Feb 2012

I'm an Atlanta, GA-based singer/songwriter that traveled to NY in February for a show. I expected that other than crashing on couches throughout the week that it would be impossible to find reasonable lodging that didn't gross me (& my traveling companion) out.

Thankfully, we stumbled into this Comfort Inn! Found it on hotels.com and gave it a go. Before I could even get the words out of my mouth, the receptionist Shivani had us booked into our room at the advertised rate! No hassle like our previous hotel!

Also, my cousin who was with me had his dog with him & the staff was very kind in acomodating our puppy. Not the easiest thing in NY!

So for the 3 days we were there, we had a great rate, a great location (off of Times Square enough to avoid getting immediately sucked into the crowds), & great service (the staff was friendly & professional throughout our stay!)

The management even allowed us to use the lounge/cafeteria area to do a dry run for my show. Not every place would ok with that!

The one big con of the location are the slow internet access (don't expect to be streaming videos).

So to sum up, our stay was a memorable one for the right reasons! A decent room at an excellent (by NY standards) price in a good location! If you're traveling through NY for a couple days, I would recommend this place!

Don't expect the lush & lavishness of a more expensive NY hotel! Just be glad to find something circa or under $100 that doesn't make you regret that you stayed there!

This location will be on my list for future visits!




Read some of the other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreeps Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear future loyal guests!!

In writing my response to you, I remember exactly who you and your cousin are!! It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we are so happy that we were able to make this time away for you feel like home. The location is fantastic and we are a very pet social hotel; a difficult vibe to find in New York City.
We are thrilled that it was memorable for you and I do not think that I had a chance to engage with you on the internet issue; we upgraded the high speed connection this week and it is just so incredibily fast!!

We all look forward to your return soon!!

Warm regards,

The Comfort Inn TImes Square South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    464
    193
    67
    46
See reviews for
399
282
62
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Times Square South Area in Jan 2012 for 2 nights. I must admit the hotel was strictly average. I was given a room on the 2nd floor which provided no view of the Times Square. The hotel room was too small and cramped - not an ideal place for more than 1 person for sure.

The complimentary breakfast wasnt worth at all - it was very average and most importantly the breakfast area can seat not more than 12-15 people so it was so tiny and cramped that I had to share my breakfast table with 3 other people - something one doesnt want especially during the most important meal of the day.

On the day of my departure I wasnt accomodated for a late check in even though I had asked to check out at 2 pm - I was told to vacate the room at 12. More than that the concierge desk needs to be upgraded. I asked for a bus service from the hotel to Newark Airport and I was told to take the 12.30 pm bus as it takes 1 and a half hours to reach Newark. Since I was going to Newark the first time, I didnt want to take any chance. So I took the shuttle and was at the Newark airport at 1.15 - in just about 35 minutes after we left the hotel. Had I know this I would have easily taken the 2.30 shuttle - but the concierge lady insisted I take the 12.30 shuttle. I wasted 2 hours at the airport doing nothing.

I will not recommend this hotel, also from a safety perspective - late evenings it gets dark and deserted and one finds all sorts of suspicious looking people hovering around the room below the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitinkalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to reply. I aplogize that we fell short; I wish to seek another chance from you!

Many of the areas that you did not like, other guests enjoyed. Rest assured, if you give us another chance, we will not dissapoint you - call ahead and we will take care of your every need; inclusive of a better view from a higher floor!!!

Kind regards,

The Comfort Inn Times Square South team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Normally I am not one to venture to hotels below 3 stars because frankly the quality level can be all over the charts. But on my recent visit to NYC I came upon this particular comfort inn online and a great rate for NYC. I was highly impressed! The hotel is in a very convenient location, right near times square, walking distance to Chelsea and everything you need is right in the area.
The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. Free wireless which is always a plus and a free hot breakfast. Overall for NYC hotels this was an amazing deal. Definitely will be staying here again next time I am in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Really not much to add to the other positive reviews. The location is great, the rooms are well appointed, the hotel is clean and efficient and the staff is professional. Considering the price I paid, I'm even more impressed by the value. Definitely a great find.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest:

It was lovely to hear from you - we are so happy that not only was your time with us here at the property positive, but your oversall visit to New York City was positive!! The team here trys their best to keep the service consistent and go above and beyond what is expected. We are delighted that you enjoyed the full hot breakfast and the affiliation that we have with the parking garage is unheard of; a super low rate!!!!

Come back soon!

Kind regards,

The Comfort Inn Times Square South team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Mom's first trip to NYC, so it had to be done RIGHT. I chose this hotel because of its closeness to Times Square and theatres. We weren't disappointed. The hotel staff was super-friendly and helpful.

I expected a tiny room, based on others' reviews -- the double room we had on the 2nd floor was larger than I expected. More than enough room to move about comfortably. Spacious bathroom (although the bathroom didn't get any heat -- BRR!) that was clean, had plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure.

I've seen luke-warm reviews about their continental breakfast. Word to the wise: go early. The food is good, warm, and there's an excellent selection. Seating is super-limited though and it gets crowded quick especially if there are kids running about. Free coffee is available ALL DAY which is a super-nice feature.

The location was prime. We took the Lincoln Tunnel into the city and upon exiting the Tunnel, we were practically at the hotel's doorstep. AWESOME. We were only a couple blocks from everything we wanted to see. The hotel felt very safe and was well-kept.

Only 2 "negatives" ... 1) There is no Comfort Inn parking garage. There's an Icon garage across the street and it's about $40 for 24 hours. Super-convenient, super-fast, super-friendly. But it's $40 for 24 hours. Welcome to New York! and 2) Occasionally a strange sound would come from the air vent in our bathroom. I called the front desk and they said there was something about air pockets in the vents when it gets really cold outside. We only heard it twice, and not for any long duration.

HUGE "positive" ... I think that's one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. I was tempted to ask them what kind of mattress it was, and go buy one for home. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#248 of 467 in New York City
981 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#318 of 467 in New York City
528 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 467 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#190 of 467 in New York City
589 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#275 of 467 in New York City
4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square South
Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing