We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges
Ranked #7 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We went in New York in February 2012 for 8 days and we chose the Bubba and Bean apartments. We were 2 people but they gave us an apartmen for 4 people! Inside you'll find everything you need, the kitchen full optional :) dishes, glasses, pots, forks, spoons, knives, a kettle, matches, napkins.. then.. a veeery big fridge (with the freezer), a very big oven and a microwave. In that apartment there were a king bed and 2 single beds, a table (with a welcome basket with maps, a new york guide, coffe and some fruits, tea, sugar..). The heater system includes 2 radiators (automatic) and an electric fan heater and with that you can set the temperature you want also if the radiators are not switched on. The bathroom is little but it's enough for one week and it's clean. Next to the bathroom there is a closet where you can put your bags and coats. In our room (number 5) there were also a tv lcd about 32".
The apartment is really clean and every 2 days they clean all and when you come back home in the evening is clean and tidy as the first day :)
The housekeeper Victor, and the owners Jonathan and Clement are really friendly and helpful (and absolutly not intrusive).
The subway is 50 meters down the street, and you can also find some restaurants. If you prefer to cook you must go to Gourmet Garage in the 96th, it's a little supermarket but you can find fresh and good things.
The zone is really safe also if it hadn't a great reputation in the past. Now there is the police everywhere in Manhattan. In 8 days probably we did at least 5/6 metal detectors in the city attractions plus the airport controls with the body scanner!

The only thing I didn't like there was the noise from the street also if we were at the third floor. Probably because we are from the countryside and we are not used to the traffic of a city like New York :)

Anyway it doesn't matter :) It was a great vacation! We reccomend Bubba and Bean apartments!

Riccardo and Laura

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank riccardino85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at Bubba and Bean during our two week visit to the Big Apple after friends of us recommended it. What was bad about our stay? The lack of possibility to pay through VISA. And that's it. The place is beautiful, you feel at home right away and can live as a real New Yorker during your visit. Subway is nearby, you have a great burger restaurant at the next corner and some good deli's to get your groceries. We truly loved our holidays in NY and that was not only because it's probably the greatest city in the world, it also has one of the best B&B's i've ever been to.

Room Tip: We slept at the roadside and weren't bothered at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tijl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at Bubba and Bean Lodges for 6 nights in December 2011. The room was great, there was four of us in the room. It was was very clean and spacious and, had everything we needed. The Lodges are close to the Subway, I would recommend using this to get around, It is really easy and very safe.
Both Jonathon and Clement are very helpful but not overbearing. We enjoyed the independence the Lodges gave us. However, if we needed any help with anything it was always available.
We tended to eat breakfast in the lodge and found that cut down our costs significantly. As a familly of four, eating out in New York can be very expensive.
I would recommend Bubba and Bean to anyone who is thinking of a trip to New York.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My sister and I stayed here on our 6 day trip to NYC in February 2008. Jonathan and Clement were friendly and helpful from the start, and the welcome pack was much appreciated. The location is fantastic and really does feel like living as a local. Our room was spacious and clean with good kitchen facilities. Unfortunately B&B was booked up when we returned to NYC but we have recommended it to everyone we know who visits the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uglybuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This was our first visit to New York and we had been in touch with Jonathon and Clement prior to arriving. They were extremely helpful, but also not imposing. They left us alone but were available if needed.Location is great, feels like it would if you lived there, close to subway, shops and restaurants. Will definately return.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the building which was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebandRonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#167 of 469 in New York City
907 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 79 in New York City
366 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 79 in New York City
615 reviews
The Park Ave North
#18 of 79 in New York City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges

Address: 1598 Lexington Ave, (Between 101 & 102 street), New York City, NY 10029-6150
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: €102 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bubba And Bean (Bb) Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing