We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous French restaurant in Harlem”
Review of Cheri

Cheri
Reserve with OpenTable
Cheri is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,015 of 14,379 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Harlem
Description: Experience a unique French private dinner in a "Boutique" restaurant. On the top of the regular menu, each day we create a three-course dinner and other specials with products selected daily from local markets and organic farmers to ensure a "home style cuisine". Foie gras, oysters, escargots, pate maison, filet mignon sauce au poivre, tartares..... Considered by Harlemites as a second home, come feel the warmth created by the piano, dine by the fireplace and enjoy our cozy sofas. Maybe you prefer our big family table, the romantic "top-rated" garden or the terrace on Lenox Avenue, you will always feel at home at "Cheri". Live music almost every day. CHERI OPENING HOURS Monday to Sunday: 5PM - 11PM Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM - 3PM
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I went last night with another couple to Cheri, a French restaurant at Lenox Avenue between 121st and 122nd Street. At 6:30 the restaurant's outdoor front seating area was full with people having drinks and eating tapas. Inside it was still quiet. We were seated in a beautiful outside garden area, served by a knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive waiter. And then the fun began with drinks, delicious bread basket a charcuterie plate with the mainstays being the cornichons, the mustard, but especially the pate. That was followed by a large plate of tender octopus served with an aioli and vegetables. We finished with a superb steak au poivre, done perfectly. Spoiler alert, my wife's family is French and we lived in France for two years. We know French cooking. Our waiter was from Gabon, a former French colony in West Africa and the owner, whom we met, is French. The price of the meal was very reasonable, especially for an authentic French restaurant. We will be back there soon.

1  Thank amezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain E, Manager at Cheri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

We sincerely thank you and appreciate your time & do hope your visit to Cheri was just the first of MANY more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

we dont know which was worse the food, the service or the noise level. Nice decor but that's the only good thing we can say about this restaurant. big disappointment. wd never recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bjlauratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain E, Owner at Cheri, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thanks a lot for taking time to review Cheri. I see you didn't like it at all.... it's rare, very rare, but it's happen. I'm sorry that you don't find at Cheri what you was looking for. We always do our best to please our customers, and even if we know we can't please everyone, we continue to try to do the best. I hope you had enjoyed our beautiful garden in the back, as everyone say, it's a gem in Harlem! Cheri is not really a "restaurant" it's more like my home, where I cook with organic food locally sourced. Everyone in Harlem call it their "second home" maybe you will give us a second chance.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Cheri is a garden of delight! Sitting outside, in a garden, in NYC, in Harlem - we experienced graceful service, dishes that satisfy the palate, magical mimosas, and an easy elegant ambiance. What a lovely way to start the weekend!

Thank SeanSouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain E, Manager at Cheri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

MERCI BEAUCOUP!
Wow!! Thank you for such a very detailed and informative review. You're definitely a prized treasure to our business. It's because of many amazing people like you who've made Cheri the success that it is thus far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We went on Sunday after the gospel cerimony. It's a lovely place with nice singer during the weekend and good vibes around there. The food was delicious. The bill was reasonable - even if they charged the service then asked for the tip, it seemed unusual to me -.
Anyway, I recommend this place!

Thank Vale068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain E, Manager at Cheri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your time and for visiting us, kindly visit us again and we will love to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Had a great dinner on Saturday, the duck was wonderful, the steak was first class. Great night with three wonderful courses. We will definitely be back soon. The service was good and atmosphere relaxing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain E, Manager at Cheri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for this great and informative review, our food are organic and handcrafted to give our guest the best food experience. kindly visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheri also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cheri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing