We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French café & bakery in NYC”

Maison Kayser Columbus Circle
Ranked #51 of 394 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Maison Kayser on Columbus Circle is one of our very favorite places for breakfast/brunch/lunch when we are in New York.

Just off Columbus Circle, you walk into a bright, busy café scene reminiscent of Paris and filled with a dizzying array of gorgeous breads, tarts and pastries of every imaginable shape, flavor and color. Many of the items on offer our culinary works of art.

They have many of the classics: quiche Lorraine, croque-monsieur, croque-madame, excellent green salads, eggs cooked any way you like and very good coffee.

Seating is very close together in the restaurant and it is busy every time we go. Still, we go every time we're in New York and we highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank WehoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a slightly more upmarket breakfast and are willing to pay for it, this is your place. The menu is simple but delicious. My scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

The place was crowded, but lovely. Pastries all looked beautiful & well displayed. Sad they did not taste as good as they looked (tried the apricot tart, pistachio eclair & apple tart) The onion soup was ok, but the pasta dish was completely tasteless. The tartine with goat cheese & butternut squash was interesting but oddly lacked flavor despite having so many wonderful ingredients. The 3 of us all agreed that service was friendly & we enjoyed our visit, but not impressed with the food.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lanaworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Was a little surprised to discover that, for an allegedly French establishment, no-one appeared to speak French! LOL!

Even though all the food arrived together (in our home country of England, it is customary to serve yoghurts and cereals first, only bringing the cooked food once the cold items have been consumed), it tasted freshly prepared, and was nicely presented.

Even though well satiated by the magnificent repast, we couldn't resist taking some of the appealing pastries with us, to consume later in the day.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Emerpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We were having breakfast at the Maison Kayser and we chose the assortment of bread with butter and spreads, two soft boiled eggs with toast, yoghurt with fruit and two Cappuccinos. Everything was great, fresh and delicious. The staff was fast, friendly, but not over the top, in other words: they were perfect!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Kayser Columbus Circle also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Maison Kayser Columbus Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing