We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to rest our feet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Ranked #282 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal QC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect place to rest our feet!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

What a find, what a gem! Small-yes. Clean-yes. Modern feeling-yes. Perfectly located-yes. Free WIFI-yes Affordable-yes. Staff pleasant, helpful and patient - YES! 7

We were headed to a half-marathon and needed a good place to feel rested, yet enjoy the city:

We found this on web-site search and got a great deal for two nights (Sat & Sun) approx $200/night for a Queen room. And this included a continential breakfast at the restaurant next door. Starbucks is on the otherside (altho it seemed like the opposite: like the hotel reception area was actually in starbucks)!!!!!!!

Comfortable beds and pillows, crisp linen. Clean small bathroom but BIG shower, and some toiletries and the towels were okay. Tiny closet (for one) and a small two drawer unit available. Complimentary water available. There are only 5 maybe 6 safety deposit boxes in the basement available.

The only draw back for me (as with most every hotel) are their noisy fans/AC units .... and this was no exception. IT worked perfectly, it was just noisy - and the off on cycles always wake me!
Unloading the car was an issue to to parking/traffic; there is no drive in area or dedicated area.

We were on the 6th floor, overlooking 35th street - so relatively quiet (and away from the elevators).

Valet Parking $44 vs $33 at Myers down the street was what we were quoted per 24hrs. On 35th/5th its mostly commercial parking, therefore restrictive. We were lucky to find parking on the street a few blocks away on Park and it was free on Saturday and Sunday. Be very very careful parking on the streets - signs are confusing and most New Yorkers dont drive so they don't really know about street parking.

Close to Central Park ($10 cab ride to 72nd Transvers in early morning) and as it turns out Macy's is too, and its a block over from the Empire State Bldg; what more could you ask for! I could even see it from my window.

Korea town or K-town offered us great food (on 33rd street and 5th) and we ventured to a great Italian restaurant on Lexington (Trattoria Belvedere) all within walking distance. We had another fine breakfast experience across the street on 34th/5th - affordable and opens at 6am! Open all day - take out etc... certainly no shortage of eateries nearby! The hotel as I said offered free breaky next door but was only open at 7am on the Sunday morning... while there we could still access the free wifi (bonus).

Great value, great location, and central (from my limited knowledge of NYC). Would go back in a heartbeat and hope to do so soon! Would highly recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the elevator means less noise, less traffic and were on 35th rather than 5th ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingSuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you Travelingsuef!
We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay. Yes the parking on the street is a little risky. We have a special overnight deal with Myer's parking $33 for overnight parking. The next time you visit us you might want to take advantage of this. Also, our hotel development team is looking at a new and different way to heat and air condition our rooms. The window provide great cooling and heating, but the cycling on and off can be an issue for light or sensitive sleepers.
Location should be our middle name for access to shopping, recreation, entertainment and dining. Thank you for pointing that out and thank you for you review of our service and cleanliness. We hope that you will visit us again. We'd like to be your choice whenever you return to NYC.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    437
    145
    46
    34
See reviews for
87
508
124
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Although most Manhattan hotels tend to have small rooms, 373 tries to set a new world record. It was not possible to open both suitcases we had at the same time, or we would be blocking on of the two doors in the room. The shower was ok, but the toilet was located with one side against the wall, making every visit uncomfortable.

The service as a whole was average, when I asked some advice on a good steakhouse they gave me one suggestion, when I tried to make a reservation they were unfortunately fully booked. When I asked the concierge for any alternatives he gave none, and said that we should just walk around the neighborhood as there are plenty of restaurants around.

The big plus of this hotel is of course the location. Located on fifth avenue and a minute walk away from the Empire State Building is extremely convenient and worth dealing with the downsides stated above.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Ravnoss,
Thank you for submitting your review for Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue. As you mentioned our location is great and it is centrally located one block away from the Empire State Building and Macy's Herald Square. As a small boutique property we rely upon the limitless choices that the neighborhood has to offer. It's often hard to believe that the best restaurants are often booked solid and that you need to make reservations ahead of time. We have 3 premier steakhouses within 2 blocks of the hotel and about 8 or 9 more that serve steak on their menu. Our concierge are very knowledgeable about which establishments require advance reservations and the ones 'in the neighborhood' that you can just walk into. I apologize if their was some inability for them to offer a steakhouse that they would 'recommend'.
Our rooms are considered to be small, but clean and comfortable. We really appreciated you reinforcing this observation, because we encourage our guests to read our reviews and learn what to expect: Location, Cleanlieness, Value, and Service.
Gary Desoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Friendly staff, modern digs, clean up to date bathroom w nice toiletries. Starbucks lobby side. Nice boutique hotel, great location, frequent traveler. Sure to please, great value

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Suzen G,
Thank you for such a 'on point' description of our propery. We hope that as a frequent traveler, you will frequent Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue often. In addition to your description: We're also a highly competitive business and we want yours. Whenever you plan to return, please feel free to contact the hotel and/or myself personally.
Yours truly,
Gary Mark DeSoiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel w/my sister. We traveled to NYC to see a few sporting events/sight see/enjoy the city. It wasn't our first time in New York and the hotel we had stayed at before and loved was a little over our budget this time around. I had shopped around before booking with this hotel but was immediately glad that I did, especially after we checked in. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they are new looking and extremely clean. Wifi was complimentary, as was a continental breakfast from the Oxford Cafe next door which was pretty good. Also had TV with a full set of channels. Housekeeping staff was extremely friendly--they will change your bedding everyday if you want, unless you'd prefer to stay 'green' in which case they'll only just set your bed. The front desk staff was friendly as well during check in, and there is an express check out option which lets you check out over their phone system so you can just leave when you're done with your stay. Its location is also pretty perfect--not too close to all the hustle/bustle of the Times Square/Empire state area, but close enough to those places to walk to. Over all, the hotel is small but again, service was great, location was great and the price was right. I would definitely stay there again for a weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Sarah K,
Boston is not very far from us. So I hope that you, your friends and your family return and stay with us again. We really appreciate the oustanding review that you posted on Trip Advisor. Please feel free to contact us next time you planning a trip back to NYC.
Sincerely,
Gary Mark DeSoiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel in late March, 2012. I had a special rate of $150 a night (plus the usual rip off NYC taxes). My room was small but perfectly suitable for one person, and was clean and modern, with high definition TV and free wifi. I could hear no street noise. I am very familiar with NYC so was not looking for tourist assistance but the friendly staff is available if needed.
The location is as convenient as any in the city, with shops and restaurants near by, and proximity to bus and subway. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and fussy about lots of space, call the hotel and ask about a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you SeattleTomf!
I'm really happy to hear that you considered us a good value and appreciated our service. We try to provide you with the things that our guests appreciate like the free/fast wifi, complimentary coffee/tea/bottled water and a continental breakfast (danish or New York bagel) when you book directly through our website. Our rooms are often considered to be small (170sqft), although I have seen smaller in other NYC properties, but our upgrade to a larger queen (190 sqft) is generally only $10 more per night. It's true that our location can't be beat. Our location on 5th Avenue puts you smack in the middle of the East and West Side's of Manhattan and our access to every neighbood by subway is unparalled. Thank you so much for your outstanding review. I hope that you will stay with us again and again.
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue

Property: Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Address: 373 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3307
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique hotel on world-famous Fifth Avenue. The hotel features 70 queen-bedded rooms in a sleek contemporary design. We are located at 35th and Fifth Avenue. All rooms feature free WiFi, bathrobes, I-pod docks, on-site Starbucks. Across from the Empire State Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
373 Hotel New York City
Hotel 373 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing