We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great location, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, great location, great staff!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for a week and were very happy with everything! Rommel Gopez went out of his way to help us navigate the city, and was always a friendly face at the front desk. We particularly loved the quiet rooms, plush beds and bedding. The location could mot be better, steps from 42nd st madison square garden and the subways. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregking19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    800
    363
    118
    79
See reviews for
729
556
98
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here 26-12-11 to 31-12-11
central hotel 5 mins walk from times sq n macys
free breakfast which is lovely
room small but u only sleep here its nyc
hotel staff lovely will book trips for u at discount prices.
hotel have lots of laptops free to use for guests and free wifi all through the hotel
would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_hargrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Our Front Office staff enjoys helping our guest plan their sight seeing trips around Manhattan. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New York.

Thank you,

Charles Weed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Posiives: great location- very close to Penn Station (access to many subway lines, Amtrak, NJ Transit), easy 5-10 minute walk from Times Square and close to many other attractions; there is a cafe/bar at the entrance, the rooms are very nice, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was nice and there were a range of toiletries provided. Complimentary breakfast included: eggs, waffles, sausage mince patties, bagels, juice (orange, cranberry, apple), bread, 2 types of cereal, tea and coffee.

Negatives: we'd booked a room with 2 double beds (because there were going to be 2 couples sharing a room) but when we went ot check in at 8pm they only had a room with one king bed in it - not impressed! It was a Friday night and they said that they were having to send people to other hotels because they'd overbooked! Anyway, so we had to have 2 single inflatable mattresses brought up to our room which took up all of our floor space so that night was a bit squashy. We planned on staying 4 nights there so luckily for the next night a double room was available for us.

Overall, great location, nice rooms and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to tell us about your experience. Our staff is thrilled that you enjoyed the overall stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had a check in. On occasions we are under-departed from the day before causing overbooking. Our staff is empowered and will do whatever it takes to resolve these type of issues to our guests satisfaction.

Thank you,

Charles Weed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metlakatla, Alaska
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This hotel is kinda smallish but the rooms are very nice size, the bathroom was great except the shower head was set for taller people... otherwise, everything was great, the internet worked well and was fast and free! The breakfast was compliementary which was very nice. The place is great because you dont need a cab or anything, all the main things that a tourist wuold want to see are all right there!! There was a great little bagel place next door that was delicious and reasonable prices and very good coffee too. We slept great, good beds, nice and quiet for us.. they do have earplugs but we didnt need them. I would be glad to stay here again and I will definatley check out this hotel in other cities.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, we had a great price on Orbitz but when I called the hotel itself they feat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a TripAdvior review. We are happy that you had a positive experience here at the Wingate Hotel. With our smaller size (92 rooms) we are able to offer our guest a more personalized experience. The wireless high speed internet was just upgraded at our hotel offering up to 15mbps download speeds!

Our best rates can always be found by booking on our hotels website or calling us directly.

Thank you,

Charles Weed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Kudos !!!
I kept on coming back to this Hotel because of the people. The front desk personnel are the best among all the hotels that I have been too. I have been travelling back and forth to NY from Los Angeles, CA and this hotel will always be my first choice.
Qualities of this hotel are as follows;
1. Location is in the heart of Manhattan where there are a lot of shopping centers, good food, easy commute and everything is just around the corner.
2. Rooms are very clean, and have a very decent size for King Bed Room and Double Beds. Shower Pressure is great.
3. Complimentary Breakfast is great.
4. Beds are comfortable
5. Wide Variety of Channels on TV
6. WiFi Connection is Great
7. Front Desk, everybody, knows everywhere in manhattan, you will never get lost when you ask there where is it, anything. They know very well all the streets of NY
8. Value for Money, knowing NY.
9. There is a bar/restaurant just on the side of the bldg itself
10. Housekeepers are always nice. They make you feel very "at home".
11. Towels are very fluffy.
12. Great lobby and business center and meeting/conference room.
13. A lot more...

Kudos to Mr Rommel Gopez, one of the Managers, he is excellent in accommodating us with all our needs.
Everybody was so great and very very very friendly. Mr Paul Martinez and Robert also managers are excellent too.
The Front Desk Staff, Ms Sacia who happens to be like our personal front desk (she knows everything what to do for our reservations) plus Juan who is always smiling even its 4 5 6 in the morning after we come back from a bar. We enjoyed talking to him and displays a very nice aura everyday we see him at the front desk.
Russel is so accommodating too. He never says no to us, very helpful. So as Winston and Kyla.
of course Mr Charles Weed who is the General Manager who is always there and listens to us especially with our concern with the weights in the gym.
The whole management of Wingate by Wyndham is superbly excellent. They have a good team there and they know the true meaning of teamwork when it comes to making their guest satisfied and also in making them come back again and again and again. Like us, we stayed here for 22 days just this January alone. This is not including our stay for September to December of last year. We are very glad we found this hotel and we consider this our best hotel that we have ever been staying since we come back and forth to NY for the past 2 years.
Congratulations and Keep it up.
Special thanks to Mr Rommel Gopez. He is the most understanding Manager that we ever met. He never says no to us.
we will be back, hoping to stay there again for the whole month of February if not 100% of the month perhaps 95%.
Thanks from the bottom of our heart.

Room Tip: Choose the south side of the bldg for good celphone reception. Otherwise, it is not that important b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renato m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Renato,

Thank you for taking time to write this candied review of the Wingate hotel and Staff. We are always welcome to your constructive feedback and glad you choose to make the Wingate your home away from home.

We do have the parts on order to fix the weight machine, and for any guest that is inconvenienced we have complementary passes to a local full service gym available.

Hope to see you soon!

Thank you,

Charles Weed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,608 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Address: 235 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing