We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, Great Location and Big Hearts”
Review of Hudson River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hudson River Hotel
Ranked #378 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small Rooms, Great Location and Big Hearts”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great central location, walked everywhere. Slept through the hurricane. Small room but good bed. The staff are good natured and kept us entertained during the hurricane scare.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegCouchPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    290
    157
    53
    51
See reviews for
143
166
42
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ville-Marie
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Spent 2 great nights at this hotel with my 2 daughters and my sister. Are you that fussy traveler, picky with food and everything else? Take out all that money you have and your plastic and go elsewhere where rooms are 400 $ and THEN you can complain if things are not perfect! On the other hand, are you looking for a great deal, best location, a hotel where you feel safe, 5 minutes from Times Square, safe area but are willing to put up with little tiny irritants ? Then take this place at 210 $ a night and enjoy the wonderful location ! It was all our first visit to NYC (4 women ages 51, 46, 24, 22) and we loved it. There just would be so much to write about all the excitement. But the hotel : Great breakfast (omelettes, sausage, make-your-own waffle (plain or blueberry), maple syrup, a variety of muffins, cereal, various bagels with all condiments, juices, good coffee) the downside being the lack of tables. You can load up a tray and go enjoy your breakfast up in your room. Rooms are VERY small (we had room 1000 with 2 double beds looking out 36th street) but everything was functional. The safe works. Beds were clean (oh but i didn't take out a microscope to examine). I have no idea if the tv functions well cause we didn't turn it on. A/C works very well. We drove. There is a public parking at the back of the hotel (entrance is on 35th street). It cost me 25$ (tax included) per 24 hours and I have a toyota highlander. Small cars may be less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnishnabeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I think we paid about $200.00 a night on Expedia. The hotel is ok-- the sheets were clean and that was a plus. Rooms were tiny, tiny-- be we were out most of the day. Overall there is no Luxury at all. The staff was really friendly. The rooms were a bit run down.

The location was odd, You have to cross over a few highway entrances to start to walk into town. We walked to the Starlight Diner which was ok too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have been staying at this hotel whenever I travel to New York on my own dime, for years. It's certainly a no-frills option, but it's centrally located, the staff are friendly and helpful, it's clean and very affordable.

My girlfriend and i took the bus up from DC last month for a weekend in the City. We had a great time. Walked to Times Square. Walked to MOMA. Short cab rides to SOHO and the Village.

When I first began staying here, I made a point of taking a cab back to the hotel at night. But, over the years, the neighborhood has improved and i thought nothing of it to walk back after dark, during my last stay there.

Also, the staff was especially friendly this time. In fact, all of New York seems to be a little less New York-like, lately. A very pleasant trip, all in all.

So, in conclusion, a great little, no-frills hotel that's clean and affordable. i will almost certainly stay here again, the next time i return to New York for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFGWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a lovely time at the comfort inn, elevator is very slow and would recommend basement or first floor to avoid long waits but otherwise you could not beat the location and a nice continental breakfast included. Staff was wonderful. My husband and I stayed 5 nights and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#361 of 467 in New York City
585 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#413 of 467 in New York City
791 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#331 of 467 in New York City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 467 in New York City
226 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#306 of 467 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson River Hotel

Property: Hudson River Hotel
Address: 442 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-6344 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Hudson River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing