We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service, great price.”
Review of Hudson River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hudson River Hotel
Ranked #377 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have been staying at this hotel whenever I travel to New York on my own dime, for years. It's certainly a no-frills option, but it's centrally located, the staff are friendly and helpful, it's clean and very affordable.

My girlfriend and i took the bus up from DC last month for a weekend in the City. We had a great time. Walked to Times Square. Walked to MOMA. Short cab rides to SOHO and the Village.

When I first began staying here, I made a point of taking a cab back to the hotel at night. But, over the years, the neighborhood has improved and i thought nothing of it to walk back after dark, during my last stay there.

Also, the staff was especially friendly this time. In fact, all of New York seems to be a little less New York-like, lately. A very pleasant trip, all in all.

So, in conclusion, a great little, no-frills hotel that's clean and affordable. i will almost certainly stay here again, the next time i return to New York for pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFGWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Hudson River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a lovely time at the comfort inn, elevator is very slow and would recommend basement or first floor to avoid long waits but otherwise you could not beat the location and a nice continental breakfast included. Staff was wonderful. My husband and I stayed 5 nights and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The room was tiny, just enough room for the bed. Wardrobe was too small for our clothes. The staff were friendly and helpful which is the only good thing about this hotel.
One very slow elevator. Breakfast room only has 8 small tables for 60 rooms so we skipped the free breakfast most days and walked to Macdonalds. They advertise hot breakfast but the only hot thing was the toast and the coffee.
The worst thing about this place is the location. Yes it is walking distance to Times Square but it is in a slum area close to the Lincoln Tunnel road. Filfthy streets with run down buildings, grafitti, dingy looking bars and shops,homeless people. The area is known as Hell's Kitchen which I think is a very apt name. How did it get 2 stars? it should be -2.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My daughter and I stayed June 2-5th 2011 in the city checking out Performing Arts schools.
Staff was friendly and helpful, hotel was quaint close enough to major attractions, far enough away from the hustle and bustle!! Will definitely stay again and soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deniselewis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The staff at this Comfort Inn was so helpful and friendly! We had no problems finding the hotel and getting around the city although it's not right in the middle of the "action." We felt it was an excellent value for New York. Close to Penn Station if coming from Newark on the train and close to Hell's Kitchen for lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 55123Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#361 of 468 in New York City
588 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#418 of 468 in New York City
807 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#325 of 468 in New York City
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
794 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#414 of 468 in New York City
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson River Hotel

Address: 442 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-6344 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown West)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €162 - €385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hudson River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing