We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a Bad Thing to Say” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Ranked #331 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Thing to Say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I booked this hotel for my son and his friend for her birthday. From the minute they arrived, the people there could not have been nicer. Nothing seemed out of the way for them form dropping off thier luggage and checking in early to checking out late and beign able to leave their bags at there while they finish their trip. Everyone was very friendly and seemd to go the extra mile to make my son's stay the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    526
    197
    63
    50
See reviews for
371
314
68
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here for a week on business.

The good things about the hotel were:

- Good central location in Midtown
- Cheap ($160 per night)
- Free wifi
- Free breakfast that tasted OK
- Room clean and comfortable
- Good shower

The bad things about the hotel were:

- Room was small. Somewhere to sleep and shower, but nothing more.
- Often noisy inside the hotel. The walls are very thin and so noise travels into your room. In particular there is an ice making machine in the corridor outside the lifts that whirs away night and day.
- Often noisy outside the hotel. There is a loud bar opposite that plays music relatively late. And there is some kind of car valet business that rings an infuriating bell that sounds like a burglar alarm every time they move a car downstairs. This goes off at intervals all day and was very irritating. My friend who is a New Yorker tells me I should have asked for a room higher up the building (I was on 5th floor) to avoid the outdoor noise. Maybe that is a good tip for next time.
- Wifi painfully slow, almost like a pre-broadband dial up speed. OK for checking emails but don't expect more of it.
- Lots of repair work to the breakfast area was going on that didn't seem to be getting completed in a hurry.

In summary, this is a good tourist hotel if you want to see Manhattan for a few days, and I would stay again for that purpose. It would not be my first choice for another business trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
RJMLondon,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

this hotel is right on fifth ave, about 10 min walk from time square. such a good spot to stay, as everything is in walking distance - apart from Statue of Liberty of course! hotel was clean, quiet and delicious breakfasts!! the rooms a modest, but exactly what you want from a hotel in NY, as you won't be spending much ime there due to shopping and site seeing

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qotsa_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
345 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel. The best thing about it is the location. The only complaint we have is that we (my wife and me) were sent to Room 702, 7th floor, and the rest of the rooms were occupied by young dutch people which were extremely noisy.
They spent the whole night running from one room to the other, talking loud, slamming doors, etc.
We called the front desk and they remained silent for a while but as soon as security took off, they went back to the same behavior.
This nightmare could have been prevented by sending us to stay at another floor but the staff did nothing.
Be aware that being so close to Times Square means that people will be staying there til late at night and when they return to their rooms, they'll wake you up since you can literally hear anything that goes on in your floor, at least that's the case on the 7th where we were staying.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location.
We were there around the 7th Feb and yes there was a little bit of construction going on but not enough to make me think about not going there.
This is a fine hotel, clean and we thought the employees were friendly and considerate.
The breakfast is also ok. You cant expect the hilton when you only pay medium prices.
I would be quite happy staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravelling51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#172 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#61 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#192 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#227 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#210 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing