We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #144 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I was not disappointed with the Hampton. It's in a good location, rooms are as expected for New York and the staff was awesome. We were greeted each time we entered and left the building along with them being very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!!

Room Tip: Be sure and request if you want a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathy2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear kathy2448,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your New York accommodations and for your 5 star review! We take pride in our location and great staff and I am happy to see you enjoyed both! We hope to see you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Firstly the good:
Location - great if your heading to an event at Madison Square Gardens or want to shop your heart out at Macy's or Nordstrom Rack
Clean, decent size bathroom and staff were pleasant

Now the bad,
48 hour cancellation required - different to all the other Hamptons we have stayed in
Breakfast finishes @ 10.00am on Sunday and was cleared away by10.05am
Room was very small, even by New York standards - we ha a 2 double room and you could leave 2 suitcase open on the floor and move around, you could not move the chair at the desk at the bed stopped it from moving out. The only place to iron was the bathroom where there is a lot of wasted space.

We had booked in for 2 nights and whilst traveling logged in on line and requested a third night, obtained revised price, but never received confirmation in my email, which I did realize until we were enroute to New York, 8 called the hotel and told them what had happened, they could not accommodate the additional night at that stage nor would they cancel my room (as our booking was within 48 hours) and allow us to book in a another Hampton property. Really disappointing as I am a Hilton Honours member.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 2AussieGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alena M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi 2AussieGirls,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your NYC accommodations! We highly appreciate your feedback as our team works hard every day to provide the best service and comfortable rooms and I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. We do hope that you decide to give us another try should you be in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Great service! Just what you would expect from a Hilton property! The location was perfect for visiting our son, who is a student at FIT. The valet service was perfect! Not a scratch on our SUV. It’s a full size SUV! The front desk staff was always nice and welcoming! It’s NY. I expected some level of indifference or annoyance. But it never happened. It has certainly happened in other NY hotels we have used in the past.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jimyung Robert ... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alena M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Jimyung Robert...K

Thank you for your 5 star review! Our team works really hard to provide our guests with the highest level of service. We are so happy we were able to meet all of your needs during your stay. We hope to see you on your next trip to visit your son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We went to NY for an over night trip, we arrived at 10 a.m. The staff was more than happy store our luggage while we explored the city. After returning at 10 p.m., they were very helpful getting us checked in and settled in. The breakfast area was clean and the food was very good. The next day we wanted to explore more and our train was not leaving until 10 p.m. they were more than happy to hold our luggage again for us. The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond there job duties to make you feel welcome and to be helpful. I will stay there every time we are in NY from now on, and highly recommend this hotel. Wonderful people working there.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank F9848JPlisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear F9848JPlisam,

Thank you for staying at our hotel on your travels to the Big Apple! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for complimenting our team and that we were able to meet all of your needs. Come back and visit us again on your travels to the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Very good place - close to subway station, bus station, in the middle of the city.Near to supermarket and fast food, restaurants. Service very good. Breakfast (comparing to others u.s. hotels perfect ) - eggs, poridge, sausiges, potatoes, fruits, yoghurt.... One thins only - rooms are too small.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Dana M

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to NYC! I am so happy that you enjoyed our hotel including our location. We appreciate your feedback so we can make improvements for the future. Thank you for complimenting our staff as they work very hard to ensure the best service is provided to all of our guests. We look forward to you and your family staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#146 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#157 of 473 in New York City
2,278 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#203 of 473 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#247 of 473 in New York City
2,548 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#258 of 473 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#128 of 473 in New York City
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €124 - €355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing