We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oyster Bar”
Review of Oceana Restaurant

Oceana Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceana Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #314 of 15,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th
Transit: Public transit stops; B,D,D,V: 47th-50th/Rockefeller Center; N,R,W: 49th Street 1: 50th Street
Description: Under the guidance of the Livanos family and Co-Owner Paul McLaughlin, Oceana has provided New Yorkers with an exceptional seafood destination since 1992. Oceana's a la carte menu, coupled with its convenient Midtown/Theater District location, make it a perfect spot for a quick business lunch or pre-theater dinner. From the spectacular marble bar to the fresh lobsters and whole fish cooked to order, as well as a significant selection of prime meats, the team delivers a fresh, innovative and approachable menu. Oceana has a 70 seat Cafe with a 18 seat marble bar. Great for lunch, after work cocktails & snacks, pre-theater dinner and post-theater desserts. An award winning international wine list with some 800 selections. Spring and Summer bring a 75 seat outdoor dining area, private dining options include our Chef's table for 4-5 to our Grand Salon for 80.
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The oyster bar is incredible at the Oceana. With approximately 15 different types of oysters to choose from, and you can order them individually so that you can try them all. The Oysters were all very fresh, Would highly recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirsten306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you so much for sharing this review! We do take a lot of pride in our fresh seafood -- including our raw bar. Next time you'll have to try one of our famous seafood towers! We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 262 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016

All fish and seafood was very fresh, great services and wine lists.
I highly recommend this Oceana Restaurant, because of the quality and great menus they have to offer. Real classy atmosphere and design. The variety of cuisines from Mediterranean, Mexican and Spanish flavors.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

"Classy atmosphere . . . variety of cuisines." Well said! It's all about the freshest ingredients and an incredible team inside the kitchen. Thank you so much for sharing your review!

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We arrived for a late dinner reservation. The restaurant was mostly empty at that time of evening. The staff was wonderful. Very professional and attentive. We did not feel rushed in any way, even though we were the last table of the night. In addition, the food was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

"We did not feel rushed . . . the food was exceptional." We're so happy to hear that! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us.

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Husband and I had an outstanding meal last night at Oceana. We selected from the theatre menu which was not only a good value but allowed for wonderful choices. Fried calamari and oysters as appetizers were excellent. The grilled salmon a la planca was cooked perfectly . Sides of roasted carrots and mashed potatoes were abundant. A chocolate dessert and a lemon cheesecake topped off the meal. Service was excellent. Perfect location if you are going to the theater afterwards. We will return.

Thank WildernessLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you chose to take advantage of the pre-theater menu. We hope to see you back again soon!

The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I was late getting to Oceana - and I was meeting M for dinner before going to the theater - so M took my order over the phone and passed it on to the staff ... when I arrived my tuna was done to perfection and my sautéed zucchini tasted fresh off the stove ... the tuna was served with a spicy salsa on the side - very good. M had a house salad about which she raved (I was concerned about the time since I was late so I skipped salad - I had told M to go ahead and order, not knowing how long it would take to arrive at O given the rain and traffic).

Her Dorado wrapped in pastry was excellent, as was the sauce. M had a martini, I had two glasses of wine; we shared a superb key lime tart with a vanilla gelato; and I scarfed down the little chef's pastries that followed with the bill.

What I like about O is that every one who works there makes an effort to recognize you with a smile or a simple greeting. You feel like they are pleased to have you in their room for dinner - and not many restaurants at this level try to do that.

Oceano is a good pre-theater choice because - though it is close to the theater district - less than 10 minute walk to the Walter Kerr Theater - it is not a top-of-mind pre-t for a lot of people who stick to the highly frequented but not as good restaurant row houses.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livanos F, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food + drinks + service. We hope you enjoyed the show as well!

Kind Regards,
The Livanos Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceana Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Oceana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing