We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the .01%, yes, but wonderful all the same”
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Ranked #12 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$90
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“For the .01%, yes, but wonderful all the same”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I was a guest of a fortunate surgeon who chose his father well. His favorite restaurant. He chooses well.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank coccinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,094
    394
    194
    60
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miranda de Ebro, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fish and Sauce. You have to decide if that's enough for your experience.”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Full review and pics at: http://wp.me/P1Ilcf-8D

Le Bernardin, on 55th St, a couple of blocks from Rockefeller Center, is a hub for power lunches, wheelers nd dealers, congratulations, promotions, deals made and signed…it’s businessmen in jackets and ties (the dress code demands it), women either in power suits or pearls, and then the odd tourist like myself along for the ride.

I like a few fireworks when I go for one of these “once in a lifetime” meals, so I wouldn’t have minded a little more flash. but that is not the Ripert style. Everything is subdued, subtle, with the volume turned way down. This is definitely the food speaking for itself.

A couple of criticisms I could level at this restaurant have to do with the menu. For example, if you like, you can choose the 6 course degustation rather than the set menu. However when I compared the menus, thinking about the degustation plate sizes, which are always smaller, there only seemed to be one thing to justify the whopping $190 price, which is the wagyu, on the normal menu it attracts a $40 surcharge. Without that one dish it seemed like you were paying a lot more for smaller servings. $190 is a very expensive meal, I expect to see dishes that aren’t found on the normal menu, not only those that are a little more expensive.

All in all Le Bernardin was just as I expected, fish and sauce. There weren’t any fireworks, not from the food nor the service. The meal was well cooked, classic, and traditional. The main course was particularly good. But nothing knocked my socks off, as my mum would say. There are much more exciting meals to be had during a stay in the Big Apple…

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ordinaryextraordinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Always": Excellence.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The service cannot be matched..anywhere. The food....meticulous ...down to the last dash..... and sprinkling.
If you are coming to NYC....this restaurant for lunch or dinner......the price is well worth the experience!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keplyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top restaurant in NYC”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Ok so its a toss-up between Le Bernadin and UNion Square Care....

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LazyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Service!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I attended a birthday party in the private dining area upstairs. It was very memorable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank zibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing