We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hear live jazz”
Review of Jazz Standard

Jazz Standard
Ranked #9 of 890 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Went there for the first time recently and saw a great jazz combo, I would suggest getting there about twenty minutes or so prior to the scheduled time and buy your ticket before hand also.
Small and quaint interior very good acoustics, table service was good also
If you like live jazz check the schedule and do yourself a favor and go

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Angry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blue smoke"
in 49 reviews
"danny meyer"
in 4 reviews
"arrive early to get a good"
in 3 reviews
"talented musicians"
in 3 reviews
"great sound"
in 4 reviews
"intimate venue"
in 4 reviews
"great acoustics"
in 3 reviews
"booked tickets"
in 4 reviews
"new york"
in 20 reviews
"stage"
in 24 reviews
"performance"
in 24 reviews
"nyc"
in 43 reviews
"acts"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018

Two years ago we visited here - enjoyed the jazz and hoped that we shall not be disappointed !! It was just great jazz !!!

I strongly suggest to all Jazz lovers to visit this place !!!!

We shall certainly be back !

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We visited this place with friends on Friday. There were lots of visitors, be ready for waiting in a long queue, and really poor organized space for waiting. We were standing in a line approximately 30 minutes, and the entrance was closed although the exact opening time was stated in the ticket.
But then the mood was rehabilitated with an amazing music. The acoustics is really exciting.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 101yuliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved our evening at Jazz Standard. The Mingus Big Band was outstanding and food, atmosphere was an added bonus! Definitely add to your list of things to do in New York City

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Went to Jazz Standard twice in one week. Smallish basement club with tables in the front and a bar in the back. Service was inconsistent. First night the place was packed and the service was better than the second night when it was only partially full. NO MINIMUM here. Only a music charge. The music sets could be longer. Excellent performers on stage. Not only do they serve drinks, there is also food from the BBQ restaurant upstairs (Smoke). We had deviled eggs both evenings which have a kick to them. One evening we had a gluten free dessert. Drinks are average NYC prices. Also a few items from the food menu are gluten free. They seem to be very considerate of food allergies, providing a separate menu upon request. Had one in my party who must be gluten free and we met a gentleman at our table who also required gluten free food. No issues, so it is safe in that regard. Will go back every chance I get.

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank Empire-City-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jazz Standard also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jazz Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing