We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to hear live jazz

Went there for the first time recently and saw a great jazz combo, I would suggest getting there... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2018
Angry J
,
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Wonderful Quartet !!! Great Jazz ~~!!!

Two years ago we visited here - enjoyed the jazz and hoped that we shall not be disappointed !! It... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2018
Elizur
,
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Read all 350 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New York City
from US$199.37
More Info
from US$102.37
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$98.75
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
220
101
17
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
101
17
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue smoke danny meyer arrive early to get a good talented musicians great sound intimate venue great acoustics booked tickets new york stage performance nyc acts
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved our evening at Jazz Standard. The Mingus Big Band was outstanding and food, atmosphere was an added bonus! Definitely add to your list of things to do in New York City

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Went to Jazz Standard twice in one week. Smallish basement club with tables in the front and a bar in the back. Service was inconsistent. First night the place was packed and the service was better than the second night when it was only partially full. NO MINIMUM here. Only a music charge. The music sets could be longer. Excellent performers on stage. Not only do they serve drinks, there is also food from the BBQ restaurant upstairs (Smoke). We had deviled eggs both evenings which have a kick to them. One evening we had a gluten free dessert. Drinks are average NYC prices. Also a few items from the food menu are gluten free. They seem to be very considerate of food allergies, providing a separate menu upon request. Had one in my party who must be gluten free and we met a gentleman at our table who also required gluten free food. No issues, so it is safe in that regard. Will go back every chance I get.

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank Empire-City-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Besides it being a nice club, the music was tight. Had a great time learning about Mingus Supernova.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank MACEEWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This is one of the great places for night-life to visit in NYC. One of two classic NYC Jazz clubs, Birdland is the other; include at least one of these two in your trip to NYC, if you like Jazz at all.

The Jazz Standard is more intimate and feels more like a club than Birdland. It is in a basement and features the vibe of the Village, even though it is in mid-town. You can catch lots of great acts here from night to night. Advance tickets help, though you can queue up for day of tickets and typically get in except on Friday or Saturday nights.

They also partner with a very good barbecue place up stairs so you can either eat your meal or get snacks during the show. Bar prices are reasonable for the city and allow you to enjoy a few drinks during the performance without breaking the bank.

Make sure you add this to your NYC "experiences" on your visit or even if you are a resident who has never been.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank BadgerTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We went to see a show without realizing the jazz club was also a restaurant. We were quite pleasantly surprised with wonderful food, great acoustics, and highly professional service. The fried chicken was perfectly cooked. Nice and crispy on the outside, no additional seasoning required, juicy on the inside. Ribs were seasoned with a dry rub, very meaty and delicious! Highly recommend!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank E. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews