We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to hear live jazz

Went there for the first time recently and saw a great jazz combo, I would suggest getting there... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2018
Angry J
,
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Wonderful Quartet !!! Great Jazz ~~!!!

Two years ago we visited here - enjoyed the jazz and hoped that we shall not be disappointed !! It... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2018
Elizur
,
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Read all 350 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New York City
from US$199.37
More Info
from US$102.37
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$98.75
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
220
101
17
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
101
17
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue smoke danny meyer arrive early to get a good talented musicians great sound intimate venue great acoustics booked tickets new york stage performance nyc acts
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This is one of the great places for night-life to visit in NYC. One of two classic NYC Jazz clubs, Birdland is the other; include at least one of these two in your trip to NYC, if you like Jazz at all.

The Jazz Standard is more intimate and feels more like a club than Birdland. It is in a basement and features the vibe of the Village, even though it is in mid-town. You can catch lots of great acts here from night to night. Advance tickets help, though you can queue up for day of tickets and typically get in except on Friday or Saturday nights.

They also partner with a very good barbecue place up stairs so you can either eat your meal or get snacks during the show. Bar prices are reasonable for the city and allow you to enjoy a few drinks during the performance without breaking the bank.

Make sure you add this to your NYC "experiences" on your visit or even if you are a resident who has never been.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank BadgerTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We went to see a show without realizing the jazz club was also a restaurant. We were quite pleasantly surprised with wonderful food, great acoustics, and highly professional service. The fried chicken was perfectly cooked. Nice and crispy on the outside, no additional seasoning required, juicy on the inside. Ribs were seasoned with a dry rub, very meaty and delicious! Highly recommend!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank E. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

The is a genuine NYC jazz club with the coolest sounds imaginable. The sounds, food and atmosphere were the most memorable experiences of any visit. Make sure you get in early to get a good seat.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank paulkQ7214YI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Being my first visit to NYC, I had to get a dose of jazz.

This club advertised a 9:30 pm show for $30.
I literally arrived at 9:25 pm.
You descend down a set of stairs to get to the club.
Tables were set up in rectangular rows. There were a few 2 tops scattered about the outer areas.

This is a full service restaurant that offers a jazz show. A good number of patrons were enjoying the food offerings. Lots of beer/wine being consumed.

I was seated at an endcap of one of the tables.
All seats had a decent view of the stage.

The show kicked off right at 9:30!
The band did a dedication show to MINGUS.
The band really belted out the tunes!

Show was great. The only reason why I did not rate maximum stars is because I thought the lead guy (on the mic) was a bit too chatty, and the show concluded after a 65 min set.

I would still come back to this club!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank dagoose9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

In the basement of a building in a nondescript area of Manhattan (to me anyway) this place is a real jazz club! A bit dank, cramped with a small stage- this is a place where great jazz is experienced. You are not far from the stage no matter where you are seated at this club. I caught Fred Hersch and his "Pocket Orchestra" on a recent Friday evening and he was great! The sound is good and the service was also good. I did not have dinner there but I did have a snack along with a couple of tasty beers. Love this place!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank R5871BQmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews