We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional Mexican”
Review of Tortaria

Tortaria
Ranked #2,107 of 15,923 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Had a great burrito and an ok margarita. The food was delicious and very traditional mexican. The atmosphere was also very nice. It was not crowded, but we went super early for dinner (around 5pm)

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank FranciscaConcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Our party of four came in at around 7 on a Saturday, which also happened to be Cinco de Mayo. The place was pretty packed, but it didn't really look like much people were waiting for a table. The guy told us it would be about a 20 minute wait. I don't know if they forgot about us or what (even though we reminded them a few times that we still needed a table), but we ended up waiting closer to an hour. It's not a huge deal, but if it's going to be an hour wait, you really shouldn't lie to the customers.

Anyway, we were finally seated and it took a while for someone to even look in our direction. The party next to us, who sat down after us, got their orders taken before we did. Aside from the spotty service, the food was really just okay. The chips that came with the guacamole we ordered were stale. I had the chicken milanesa torta, which wasn't bad, but I definitely feel like I've had better chicken sandwiches from a random deli. Not worth the one hour wait. Or any wait actually, especially not with that type of customer service.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank therealmeltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We had a reservation and it was packed when we got there at 5:30 pm for our 6:00 pm reservation. We waited maybe 5 minutes to be seated. The food was outstanding, even to someone who has lived in Arizona and Southern California and used to excellent Mexican food. The guacamole is to die for! Portion sizes were indeed small, but not necessary to supersize on any of it! I would definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lyndah258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Just a few steps of Union Square Park. .it's the best Mexican sandwich shop. It looks and feels like a roadside Bodega in Mexico. ..I had the best spicy fries , tacos, guacamole. .and a Tequila shot ...budget friendly. ..it's my new favorite place. .

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank roxanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We loved this place - great food, good vibe!

Only area for improvement would be faster drink service (the place was busy but not full).

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SimoneK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tortaria also viewed

 

Been to Tortaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing