We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wall Street Inn
Ranked #269 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Excellent hotel. Clean rooms, not to big but comfortable. Friendly staff and convenient location to go into town and from and to the airport. Continental breakfast included, but is not so good. And the breakfast room is very small and not accomodated to serve all the guests in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank rosalie_kok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    241
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
88
199
38
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Located in the Financial District but with an almost European feel to the location. Weekend rates are a bargain (we paid $155 Fri and Sat nights) since it can be a pretty quiet in this neighborhood once the markets close for the weekend. The room was quite spacious by Manhattan standards. Comfy beds, clean room, mini-fridge in room, quiet, good temp control...no complaints! The very small breakfast area off the lobby had pastries etc out all day and night which was nice. My only complaint is in regards to the front desk staff. A big ZERO on enthusiasm and personality. We only saw the same 2 or 3 faces there all weekend. No greetings to us ever. No concierge or doorman. Maybe it's different during the week with all the businessmen? We didn't mind overall, but it was a bit odd. Lots of Irish pubs nearby. The Union House right behind the hotel was the most lively of the 3 we went to. Would definitely stay at The Wall Street Inn again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This small, 46 room, hotel in lower Manhattan is a great alternative to the big chains. The rooms are good size (for NY) and the price is equal or less than the going rate at other nearby establishments.

It feels like a European hotel (partly becuase of the classic architecture and it's that it borders Stone St, which is the 1st cobbled street in NY) and, although there is no bar or restaurants on site, you are close to some great places like Harry's.

This is my go to place if I am visiting the Wall Street/ Water Street area. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: look for a corner room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler9028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at The Wall Street Inn. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small and didn't have much room to set things down or get ready. The bed and linens were clean and comfortable. Cleaning was done quickly in the morning as to never disrupt your stay. Breakfast was small but complete w/toast , bagels, pastries and fruit. The breakfast room was small as stated before however there is another dining room right next door that is more than large enough. The hotel is very convenient to everything IE. ferry, subway and sights. The only complaint we had was as noted before the front desk staff (especially at night) is very unwelcoming. I actually heard a guest ask the desk how to get to SOHO and their reply was "I don't know what SOHO is." WOW! Aside from that issue I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Had room overlooking S. Williams St. Had no problem with noise. However can see how Stone Street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devo262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I've never written a tripadvisor review but my husband and I had such a nice stay at the Wall Street Inn that I just have to let other travelers know what a great find this is. I am not a millionaire who stays in hotels half the year, but I'm very particular about accommodations when I do travel and I have to say I was 100% pleased with the Wall Street Inn – beginning with the moment we walked into the cherry-paneled lobby.

I had called earlier to request a room on the front side, since a number of reviews mentioned the noise from a tavern on Stone St at the rear of the hotel. The receptionist had assured me that wasn't an issue in the winter, because there are no longer tables outside, but when we arrived she had upgraded us to a nicer room near the front anyway.

It was super quiet the whole time we were there (a Th-Sat in February) and gave us just the relaxing, refined weekend we were looking for. We woke up to a complimentary Wall Street Journal outside our door, which we enjoyed over the surprisingly good continental breakfast - the croissants are quite possibly the best that I've had this side of the Atlantic.

Some other people on tripadvisor called the service "cold" but maybe they are from the Midwest and don't understand that on the East Coast quietness often is a sign of respectfully minding your own business. I felt we had everything we needed, but were never imposed on by chatty staff, which was great. After a particularly trying night on the NYC metro system (now THEIR staff is bad!), in which we had to pay twice as much for a trip that took twice as long as it should have, we got back to the hotel 5 minutes after room service ended. But the hotel staff cheerfully agreed to bring us dessert anyway, which made up for the metro debacle.

The room was smallish but not cramped, and well-appointed. Two comfy armchairs, a nice closet, a desk, and a big TV. My favorite kind of sheets on the bed - tiny stripes, with a duvet in between (the pillows were a little too stiff/tall but otherwise everything was great).The bathroom was quite spacious, with beautiful stone tiles in the shower and the shampoo and conditioner actually worked on my very long, thick hair.

Anyway, I could go on, but overall five stars for sure!! Thank you Wall Street Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front if you come in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WallStreetInn, General Manager at The Wall Street Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a guest review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Eeastern Hospitality during your stay at our hotel. On your next visit to the Big Apple, please try the Staten Island ferry for a close-up of Lady Liberty in the NY harbor. It is still part of the NYC MTA subway system but is the only free ride in New York! I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to The Wall Street Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#346 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#352 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wall Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wall Street Inn

Property: The Wall Street Inn
Address: 9 S William St, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10004-2412
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wall Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wall Street Inn welcomes you to a perfect downtown location near the New York Stock Exchange and all lower Manhattan corporations. Our intimate hotel brings charm to the traveler and offers comfort at an affordable price. It is ideal for your next business or vacation trip to New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wall Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Street Hotel New York City
Hotel Wall Street
Wall Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing