We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous new hotel with great rooms, and a real sex appeal to the whole place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Out NYC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A fabulous new hotel with great rooms, and a real sex appeal to the whole place!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

What a great new hotel! I loved the whole vibe , the lay out and the hotels attitude in general!
It's really sexy and cool and fresh and a fun place to stay whilst in NYC ! The club next door is also an amazing place to go and the atmosphere and vibe was truly incredible ! Highly reccoment this hotel! Many thanks for making it a memorable stay :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncanjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    331
    147
    64
    73
See reviews for
60
415
287
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have already stayed at the OUT twice and have really enjoyed the experience each time. The rooms are a great value for money and the staff is friendly and nice on the eyes. The proximity to XL makes for a fun stay without having to travel far from your room. I will be back soon.

Room Tip: On Saturday you can hear the club so if you are sound sensitive a room on the their
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I didn't know what to expect reading the reviews, articles, and website but came away thinking that this is a really cool place. The people were incredibly friendly and the rooms were very nice. The courtyards and spa are among the best I've seen in hotels in this price range and the location is great. I made sure I got a quiet room and did not have a problem with the noise from the club. Speaking of the club, I was there on a Friday night and had a great time. Also very friendly, sexy vibe. There were a few things that could be improved on , most notable the wireless connection, but overall I had a fantastic time at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bayrunner350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
To our most valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us at THE OUT NYC. It is our goal not only meet, but go beyond the expectations of our guests!

We look forward to accomodating you during your next visit to NYC!

All the best,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

An extremely comfortable room (bed one of the best I have ever slept in) and staff were very friendly, but overall I was a little disappointed. The lay-out of the whole place was a little strange. Public spaces were slightly incongruous (little booths for late night drinks surrounding two jacuzzis) and a very stark grey entrance area which was quite uncomfortable. It didn't really seem to know whether it was a sauna, night club or design hotel - unfortunately accomplishing non of the above with much success in my opinion. The restaurant is not yet open and the breakfast served in the business centre was really poor - I know it is only a matter of time before this gets sorted, but paper bowls, paper cups and plastic cutlery?$%! I may be judging 'The Out' too early in its career and I hope it does grow into itself as the concept is cool and NYC needs something like this, but not sure I will be rushing back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is less noisy than the 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank just_hanging123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
To our most valued guest,

Thank you so much time for sharing your critiques with us! While we are grateful to hear of the comfortability of your room, we can assure you upon the opening of our on-site restaurant KTCHN this June, our food and beverage accomodations will reach beyond your expectations!

We look forward to the opportunity to impress upon your next visit to NYC!

Many thanks,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My new Westside favorite! OK, it's very West, between 10th and 11th, but you'd never know you were only a few blocks from Times Sq. And a bit of a hike from the 8th Ave subway. But: the room is TWICE AS LARGE AS MOST BOUTIQUE HOTELS! The staff is friendly and no one cares if you are gay or straight. My 3rd floor room faced the two courtyards, both with hot tubs and waterfalls, chez lounges, and cabanas. The bedding, water pressure, towels, robes are all first rate. I did hear a bit of bass thumping from the lounge but hey, there were earplugs on the pillow.

9th Avenue was hopping with so many restaurants and walkers. Great people watching from the lobby.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor - ask to be as far away from the club as possible if you need quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cootmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
To our most valued guest,

We are so pleased to hear of your great accomodations at THE OUT NYC. Thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience, and we look forward to having you during your next visit to New York!

All the best,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
16,398 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
10,821 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4,729 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
2,169 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing