We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$240
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$200
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$323
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lexington Hotel, Autograph Collection(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Fitzpatrick Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$213
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$345
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (6,986)
Filter reviews
6,986 results
Traveller rating
4,479
1,837
441
145
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,479
1,837
441
145
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicefifth avenuebryant parklate checkgrand central stationbottle of champagnehigh floorquiet streetfantastic hotelrockefeller center
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 6,986 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Best service, superclean rooms, fantastic view. I like the details like the flowers and pictures from Paris everywhere. The food is excellent and glutenfree is not a problem. Coffee and tea to take away is ready in the early morning. I can highly recommend this beautiful hotel in the heard of Manhattan.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Sofitel New York is definitively French with a light French flair about it along with an interesting deco décor. It is indeed one New York's better hotels. It's one of those that are, of course, pricey, around $400/night range when add all those pesky little things in like taxes, resident fees, destination fees, etc., etc., etc. But if you want to be in a hotel with the best of staff and a super location near Rockefeller Plaza, Times Square and Broadway, this is the place and well worth the premium price.

I was in room #1804 and couldn't have asked for anything better. The décor of it had a certain understated elegance and the bathroom was complete with a shower along with a completely separate and individual tub.

The hotel has one of the best of concierge services ever along with Gaby, a very good in house restaurant and bar. But I might add that Sofitel is located near some of the best restaurants of New York, which for a foodie Yelper like myself makes everything super special.

Besides the high price with all the silly add-ons of destination fees, resident fees, etc. (but this is true of every hotel in New York) the only other minus I found was a totally crappy Wi-Fi system and a computer room of only three computers, one of which never seemed to work, that seemed to have been taken over as a children's playground,

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yelpite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The hotel was part of an Expedia package deal and I was a bit worried the hotel would not live up to expectation, however my fears were easily squashed as soon as we walked into the lobby.

The staff were helpful and attentive as they could see we were tired after a long flight and arriving late at night we wanted a quick check in. I had emailed the hotel prior to our visit requesting a room high up with a view of the city as I had read it had fantastic views of the city. The hotel came up trumps and we had an amazing view of the Chyrsler Building and Empire State Building.

The room was big and very clean and the bathroom had a large shower and separate bath. This was the perfect room to unwind after a long day visiting NYC.

The only slight issue I had was with room service which was too efficient and would come at around 08:00 when I was still half asleep.

Overall it was a brilliant hotel in the hub of the city with links to all the major attractions!

Room Tip: Email before you get there for a room with a view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay.. the rooms were very clean, the beds were really comfortable.. well appointed marble bathrooms..
We would like to acknowledge Sonia from gaby’s restaurant.. she is an asset to the Sofitel.. from the beginning of our day at breakfast she would welcome us and at the end of our day she would be still be there, a wave when we walked in and a warm and welcome back to look after us.. her warm, caring, kind and friendly customer service is the reason why we would choose to return to the Sofitel..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bigreesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we were very pleased with everything.
The staff were fantastic, the location was great, the rooms were comfortable and very clean.
We would go back anytime!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cardan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews