We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of peace downtown New York”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #73 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 October 2017

From the arrival to departure the level of service is amazing. The french touch is very appreciated.
Great concierge assistance and warm welcome at the reception. The decoration is cosy and present a luxury environment.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MichelGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 104 of 6,722 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Best service, superclean rooms, fantastic view. I like the details like the flowers and pictures from Paris everywhere. The food is excellent and glutenfree is not a problem. Coffee and tea to take away is ready in the early morning. I can highly recommend this beautiful hotel in the heard of Manhattan.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Sofitel New York is definitively French with a light French flair about it along with an interesting deco décor. It is indeed one New York's better hotels. It's one of those that are, of course, pricey, around $400/night range when add all those pesky little things in like taxes, resident fees, destination fees, etc., etc., etc. But if you want to be in a hotel with the best of staff and a super location near Rockefeller Plaza, Times Square and Broadway, this is the place and well worth the premium price.

I was in room #1804 and couldn't have asked for anything better. The décor of it had a certain understated elegance and the bathroom was complete with a shower along with a completely separate and individual tub.

The hotel has one of the best of concierge services ever along with Gaby, a very good in house restaurant and bar. But I might add that Sofitel is located near some of the best restaurants of New York, which for a foodie Yelper like myself makes everything super special.

Besides the high price with all the silly add-ons of destination fees, resident fees, etc. (but this is true of every hotel in New York) the only other minus I found was a totally crappy Wi-Fi system and a computer room of only three computers, one of which never seemed to work, that seemed to have been taken over as a children's playground,

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yelpite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The hotel was part of an Expedia package deal and I was a bit worried the hotel would not live up to expectation, however my fears were easily squashed as soon as we walked into the lobby.

The staff were helpful and attentive as they could see we were tired after a long flight and arriving late at night we wanted a quick check in. I had emailed the hotel prior to our visit requesting a room high up with a view of the city as I had read it had fantastic views of the city. The hotel came up trumps and we had an amazing view of the Chyrsler Building and Empire State Building.

The room was big and very clean and the bathroom had a large shower and separate bath. This was the perfect room to unwind after a long day visiting NYC.

The only slight issue I had was with room service which was too efficient and would come at around 08:00 when I was still half asleep.

Overall it was a brilliant hotel in the hub of the city with links to all the major attractions!

Room Tip: Email before you get there for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay.. the rooms were very clean, the beds were really comfortable.. well appointed marble bathrooms..
We would like to acknowledge Sonia from gaby’s restaurant.. she is an asset to the Sofitel.. from the beginning of our day at breakfast she would welcome us and at the end of our day she would be still be there, a wave when we walked in and a warm and welcome back to look after us.. her warm, caring, kind and friendly customer service is the reason why we would choose to return to the Sofitel..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bigreesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,741 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,520 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 471 in New York City
3,895 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#137 of 471 in New York City
5,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €189 - €490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing