We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,028)
Filter reviews
7,028 results
Traveller rating
4,505
1,850
443
146
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,505
1,850
443
146
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicefifth avenuebryant parklate checkgrand central stationhigh floorquiet streetfantastic hotelrockefeller centerny standards
Filter
Updating list...
903 - 908 of 7,028 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after our cruise. Check in was easy but due to us ariving early we couldn't get our room till after 2pm. So we changed and went out and they held out bags. Thr hotel Is quite dark in places. The room we had was a good size and bed very comfy. Plenty of plugs. The room itself overlooked a fire escape so no view and office blocks which was quite Dissaponting It was also a very dark room so needed the lights on. Bathroom was large and had all you needed. Beakfast was Included and you had a cooked breakfast and patries and set you up for the day and was of food quality. The doorman William was very helpful and David was also helpful.very good location 5 minutes walk from times square.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Very nice room, great service from the first moment of arrival ,very friendly staff, great location , excellent " Gaby" Restaurant - we had a great stay at the Sofitel NYC - a luxury Hotel with a European Touch .

Room Tip: rooms 14.lvel up
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank berlin254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed three nights at the Sofitel New York in early August as we wanted to see some Broadway plays and have a hotel in walking distance but not in Times Square. The Sofitel was a good choice. While we anticipated more of a luxury hotel, it met our needs. The room was a decent size and comfortable. We were on the 19th floor with a view of the Empire State Building. We were interrupted early one morning with a fire alarm. Subsequent communications were a bit confusing even though it was communicated eventually as no emergency. The hotel needs to ensure its emergency communications plan is well-understood and communicated by staff. Overall the Sofitel is in an excellent location convenient to Grand Central Station, Times Square and the theaters. The staff was very helpful and generally friendly. Gaby Restaurant was convenient for breakfast (it was included in our plan) and for an afternoon refreshment.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prescott2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Prescott2007,

Thank you for sharing your review of your most recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We apologize for the interruption caused by the fire alarm on this morning. This is not a common occurrence at our hotel. We do have emergency safety evacuation plans in place. These are reviewed on a monthly basic by our security team. We have made some recent updates to our intercom system, as well as communication plans to ensure that everything is well understood by our guests both American and International. We greatly apologize for any confusions and interruption we may have caused. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Warmest Regards,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This hotel was wonderful! The location is just perfect. A pretty quiet street within walking distance to SO MUCH!! The bathroom was amazing, and the bedroom was good sized for NYC. The bed was AWESOME! Would stay here again in a second!

Room Tip: Only higher floors have a view.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jnf0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Bonjour jnf0410,

Thank you for this extremely positive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had the perfect trip to New York City and that your daughters had such a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

It costs a lot to stay here. The restaurant is not inviting, we did not use it. But for sitting and visiting the lobby was nice. You can walk safely in this neighborhood, thats what my local relatives tell me.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dreamredwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear dreamredwing,

Thank you for your review. When our restaurant was designed, it was the goal of French designer Pierre Yves-Rochon to create a archetypal brasserie which blends 1920's New York with an ambience reminiscent of popular Parisian bars. Taste is indeed subjective. I hope you will have the opportunity to experience our restaurant on a future visit to New York City. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our lobby.

I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at Sofitel New York soon.

With my best regards,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews