We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,421)
Filter reviews
2,421 results
Traveller rating
1,443
714
176
43
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,443
714
176
43
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews radio city music hall purified water terrace club club quarters highly recommend the jewel great location patrick's cathedral central park new york times square sister hotel living room nbc studios free wifi coffee machine small gym top of the rock
Filter
Updating list...
1,598 - 1,603 of 2,421 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Jewell was in an excellent location and was a short walk from both Broadway and 5th Avenue. We reserved a large room with a sitting area. When we arrived at the Jewel (about a $10 cab ride from Penn Station) we checked in and were directed two doors down to the Manhattan Center Hotel where our room was located. The room was as advertised and was very clean. The bed was comfy and the bathroom had two sinks. The filtered water machines were not as easy to locate in the adjoining hotel as in the Jewel itself. They need to better post the floors where these are located as they are not on every floor in this location. We asked for late check-out on our last day (normal check-out is noon). We were granted a 3pm check-out time but we were charged $35 for the service. There is a small deli/cafe next door that serves excellent breakfast and lunch and their coffee amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location - directly opposite Rockefeller Center and next to Radio City music hall, it is so easy to get to anywhere in mid-town Manhattan.

The hotel has a boutique feel to it, the rooms are modern and comfortable with a fridge and a microwave, ipod dock, cable tv and wi-fi. The staff are friendly and the hotel is really secure, with your room key needed to activate the lift. I would stay here again without hesitation, it was the superb base for a superb holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soosie1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

For the price and location, this can't be beat. Jewel is central to many attractions (Rockefeller, Central Park, museums, Times Square, 5th Avenue, Soho, 34th street, Empire) and the subway. You could spend the first part of your day in one area, go back to your hotel to recharge, then head back out again elsewhere. There's also a 24 hour Duane Reade drug store down the block for all your necessities.

The rooms were small but functional. They include TV, AC, ipod clock, coffee maker. You can get a fridge, microwave, iron/board, or exercise equipment brought into your room for free. Try to avoid staying on the 15th floor as you have to transfer elevators. The free wifi is great, as is the 2nd floor lounge where you have access to computers/color printers, a K-cup station with various coffees, tea, and milk, TV, charging stations, and water cooler/bottles. You have to pay $35 to check-in early, but it's better to just drop your bags off for free and they will put them in your room when it's time for check-in at 11am.

Free laundry (they supply detergent) is on the 5th floor in the fitness room. There's only one washer/dryer so try to get there in the afternoon when everyone is out or late, late at night when people are sleeping. The dryer is not very effective though, after 2 hours my clothes were still damp.

Staff is super friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about this hotel, if you are on the fence, spend the extra bit of money and stay here, it is so convenient and the area feels safe as there are lots of tourists and shops/restaurants open late in the west towards Times Square and across the street at 30 Rock.

Room Tip: 15th floor requires transferring elevators. 5th floor has fitness/laundry 2nd floor has the lobby
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 251Lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Everything was perfect! modern comfortable and easy to living hotel, location is perfect, hotel as well, little hotel but everything you need, even the laundry and the floor with complimentary coffee machine and business center. The girls at the front desk are so kind, always a big smile on their faces. A special mention to Christina, who arranged all our needs always with a perfect natural smile. The room was spectacular and comfortable, we chose the two bedroom suite, although does not have a view, you don't really need the view if you are out all day long, on the other hand the silence is guarantee.

Room Tip: don't bother to get room with a view it is not necessary!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Structure situated a few steps from Rockefeller Center, not far from the MoMa and 5th avenue.
Comfortable for getting around the city 'walk away. Friendly staff; room very clean.
There are free internet points at 2nd floor and you can leave your baggage during your check out day for free.
Furthermore there is a service to go to the airport allowed for hotel's guest

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ale_Florence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews