We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel in the theatre district” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the theatre district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent 5 nights and it was an excellent hotel experience. We strongly reccomend it for couples families and even business trip. Not for business venue. Breakfast is very good quality even if is not too fancy. Concierge was very efficient in restaurant reservations. For runners both central Park and hudson river are very close.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziocut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    511
    65
    10
    10
See reviews for
734
891
65
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel is in the most fabulous location, just round the corner from Times Square and only a short walk north to Central Park and the main shopping district is very close as well!
The free continental breakfast was great, a lovely choice and saved us so much money while we were out there. You could stock up for lunch if you wanted too.
All the staff were very friendly although not very helpful when we asked where would be a good place to buy a prom dress for my daughter.
The rooms weren't massive but there was plenty of room for the four of us and places to keep the suitcases.
Overall, this hotel is superb and i would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace_Blackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at the pearl for 3 nights in early feb 2012, rooms are a good size, nicely decorated and comfortable. The hotel itself is clean, staff are friendly and location is excellent. Breakfast can be busy in the mornings but if there is nowhere to sit just take it back to your room. I am a very fussy traveller and I would definately stay here again :)

Room Tip: All rooms are of a great standard dont worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikjimandja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My daughter and I stayed here 1/21/12 to celebrate her birthday. I'd never heard of The Pearl previously but stayed as a result of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. This is simply a wonderful, boutique hotel! It's a little hard to find but perfectly located near Times Square. Everything you may need is just outside the door.

We arrived early - our room wasn't quite ready - but they offered us an upgrade at a very reasonable upgrade fee. We stayed in a King Suite - it was spectacular. The decor and furnishings were very modern and beautiful, especially the bathroom. Definately the biggest room we've ever had in NYC.

We enjoyed the room so much that we ended up coming back to the room right after dinner.
Very comfortable and quiet. Included in the room fee is a very generous continental breakfast which we throughly enjoyed. We did not check out till the last minute!

Hotel staff was very kind and helpful. We felt very welcome. I highly recommend a stay here next time you're in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheonlyMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
190 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Since this is a new hotel make sure you can give specific directions to your taxi driver. Not one of them knew where this place is located by address so I had to say 49 between 7th and 8th.

Stayed here with friends on a girl's trip for three nights before heading to Soho area. I've been to NYC many times and usually stay in the mid-town area closer to 5th and was a little worried being to close to touristy Times Square. Since it was late January NYC was pretty dead, which was great for us getting into almost every restaurant we wanted to eat at and quick visits to Top of the Rock, etc. The Pearl however, was completely full. It is obviously very popular with international visitors and seemed to be some of the few visitors from the states. We got a good rate but at the time we were traveling even 5* hotels around the city were offering rates close to what we paid. So check around.

I had a Deluxe King room on the 14th floor. All the furnishings are new and the room is a decent size. The bathroom had a TV and stall tiled glass-doored shower. It is very stylish but was very small. My friends had a double bedded room and their bath was a little larger with a tub/shower combo. The bed is ok - not the best or worst mattress I've slept on. Linens were nice. Mini-fridge and coffee maker in room. I was on a high floor and it could be loud at some times, but I usually got in late at night and didn't have trouble sleeping. The black-out curtains truly make the room dark and I overslept one morning.

The breakfast is nothing great, just some bagels and store-bought muffins, etc. Skip it and go to the corner bakery (Bennos, maybe) that had some good unique food at decent prices.

Location great and walkable to theater district, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, MOMA. Some good bars and surprisingly good restaurants around. West End on 49th close to 9th, I think, had great menu and wine with very good prices. The bar at the steakhouse at The Pearl looks much better in person and the bar staff were always very nice. Didn't get a chance to eat there; the night we were planning on it they closed earlier than we expected.

Front desk staff nice but not super knowledgable and concierge was just ok. Wanted to get tickets to Seminar and she made a call and said she could only get two and they only came with a dinner package. I called theater box office directly and was able to get three really good seats. One last thing I really didn't like was that this is a busy area full of tourists, etc. and even though we were there at a slow time it is still busy in that area of the hotel and there was no security other than the door men to get up to the rooms. You didn't need a key to access the elevator -- just walk right in. Technically anyone off the street could have gone up to the 2nd floor breakfat area and ate!

So to sum up
PROS - great location, new hotel, good rates, botique small size, bar, bell staff super friendly
CONS - small bathroom, security, bar closes early, rate high for off-season January, room needs better lighting

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbmWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing