We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH auntie happy at aloft Harlem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #231 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NH auntie happy at aloft Harlem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Finding accommodations close to Columbia Medical Center in northern Manhattan - I usually stay in Ritz-Carlton or Intercontinental hotels - seemed impossible until a friend directed me to aloft Harlem. I traveled from NH and checked in for 10-days while my nephew had brain surgery. Imagine my stress level and the shortness of my fuse. Every day, I was happy and grateful to be staying here. I drove back and forth to the hospital at all hours of the day and night (about 10 minute drive), generally used their efficient valet parking, and had healthy and delicious food available to take to my room 24/7. When I preferred a taxi, one was called for me and arrived promptly. The beds and linens were luxurious after a long stint at the hospital; the large flat screen TV, wi-fi, bathroom and other amenities were just what I had hoped for. The hotel is "hipper" and has more of a "buzz" than I am used to and my room was ingeniously designed. I loved it. The housekeeping was up to my stringent standards. The front desk staff and bartenders were among the best trained and most personable that I have encountered in any hotel in the world. I felt secure and known at this hotel. There were very glamorous guests (who provided great people-watching), business travelers, staid looking older couples, and cool young people. We were all greeted by name and given the feeling that the staff was happy to be there and that they love their jobs. If you have a family member at Columbia University Medical Center in Washington Heights, do stay here and let them take care of you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftHarlem, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear auntieNH,

This comment is very special to us, as our entire staff remembers you and how much you had to go through during your trip. We enjoyed having you as a guest, as you were always very pleasent and warm to our entire staff. Thank you for the thoughtful review, we truly appreciate it. We hope you come back to visit us the next time you're in New York; we'll make sure to make your trip extra special. Our thoughts are with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    283
    59
    10
    15
See reviews for
146
165
66
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I typically stay at W Hotels, but decided to be a bit more budget-conscious and try the Aloft Harlem. I'm glad I did! The hotel is new, gorgeous, and a block from the subway (one express stop from 59th/Columbus Circle). And the staff was stellar -- helpful and friendly every time. This is my new preferred hotel in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftHarlem, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Tal99,

Thanks for the great review. We'll make sure to show our staff, as they'd enjoy your complimentary remarks. Please come back the next time you're in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We spent our last night in new york in these hotel, and it was great.
The room we had (1 King size) was very "kompact"- small but well set and had everythung you need in it.
the location ofcourse is the main "problem"' but it is not really a problem: the subway is 2 minutes away, the area is not(!) scary to walk in and there are even some nice resturants in walking distence.
The Looby area- Including the lounge and the bar are vevy nice and fun to be in.

Room Tip: if you want a bigger room get a 2 queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftHarlem, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear avivb,

Thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed the area and were able to explore the great selections of restaurants near by. Please come back to visit the next time you're in New York City.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
179 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel and the area.
Staid using Sheraton points and cash. Cheapest option in NYC.
Hotel is very nice with cool lobby and bar.
No parking.
Short walking distance to the subway and from there 10 min to times square.
Walked back from Subway at night with my wife and 2 daughters (9 and 13) and felt very safe.
Rooms are small but functional

Room Tip: The king bed rooms are smaller then the 2 queens. Use the subway to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftHarlem, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Ohad B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we truly appreciate it. Please come back next time you're in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Staff are contemporary but very professional. Chantelle was on the front desk and made me feel at home with her small talk, as well as the well spoken guy with the dreads. Was easy for me to move around the two days I was in new York before jetting out to London. Rooms are nice and well done. Bathrooms are lovely. Resturaunts are all over, 125th street is just around the corner to get everything and anything u need, even H&M is there. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majorstepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftHarlem, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Majorstepper,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property; we truly appreciate it. We'll make sure to pass your comments along to the desk and the rest of the staff. Please come back to the Aloft Harlem next time you're in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#375 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#384 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#49 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#300 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#306 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#263 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Property: Aloft Harlem
Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing